

# Legislation Text

### File #: 2019-0234, Version: 1

## Clerk 05/29/2019

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of the initial board members on the new King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board.

WHEREAS, the King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board is to be comprised of three tenmember committees: a veterans committee; a seniors committee; and a vulnerable populations committee, and

WHEREAS, the veterans committee of the King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board, shall constitute in its entirety the membership of the King County veterans advisory board;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:

A. The county executive's appointment of the following individuals as the initial members of the King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board's veterans committee, who will also serve as members of the King County veterans advisory board, are hereby confirmed:

1. Dr. Samantha Powers, who resides in district one, as the district one representative for a two-year term expiring on May 31, 2021;

2. Alicia Starova, who resides in district two, as the district two representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

3. David Waggoner, who resides in district three, as the district three representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

4. Carrol Stripling, who resides in district seven, as an executive-nominated representative, for a three

## File #: 2019-0234, Version: 1

-year term expiring May 31, 2022;

5. Robert White, who resides in district eight, as an executive-nominated representative, for a twoyear term expiring May 31, 2021;

6. Peter Lewis, who resides in district seven, as a Sound Cities Association representative, for a threeyear term expiring May 31, 2022;

7. Chuck Murrell, who resides in district seven, as the district seven representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021; and

8. Chris Porter, who resides in district eight, as the district eight representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021.

B. The county executive's appointment of the following individuals as the initial members of the King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board's seniors committee, are hereby confirmed:

1. Cynthia Snyder, who resides in district three, as a representative of the Seattle-King County advisory council on aging and disability services, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

2. Dick Woo, who resides in district one, as a representative of the Seattle-King County advisory council on aging and disability services, for a three-year term expiring on May 31, 2022;

3. Susan Kingsbury-Comeau, who resides in district three, as the district three representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

4. Lee Harper, who resides in district four, as the district four representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

5. Patrice Thorell, who resides in district five, as the district five representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

6. John Barnett, who resides in district six, as the district six representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

7. Nancy Colson, who resides in district seven, as the district seven representative, for a two-year term

### File #: 2019-0234, Version: 1

expiring May 31, 2021;

8. Steven Knipp, who resides in district two, as the district eight representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021; and

9. Lori Guilfoyle, who resides in district nine, as a Sound Cities Association representative, for a twoyear term expiring May 31, 2022.

C. The county executive's appointment of the following individuals as the initial members of the King County veterans, seniors and human services levy advisory board's vulnerable populations committee, are hereby confirmed:

1. Heidi Shepherd, who resides in district one, as the district one representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

2. Judith Tobin, who resides in district two, as the district two representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

3. Cynthia Goodwin, who resides in district two, as a Sound Cities Association representative, for a three-year term expiring May 31, 2022;

4. Rene Murry, who resides in district four, as the district four representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

5. Hira Singh Bhullar, who resides in district five, as the district five representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

6. Olga Perelman, who resides in district six, as the district six representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021;

7. Kathlyn Paananen, who resides in district two, as an executive-nominated representative, for a three -year term expiring May 31, 2022;

8. Michael Tulee, who resides in district one, as an executive-nominated representative, for a two-year term expiring May 31, 2021; and

9. Michelle Frets, who resides in district nine, as the district nine representative, for a two-year term

expiring May 31, 2021.