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Subject
Amending King County Board of Health Code 19.12 to raise the minimum legal sales age from 18 to 21 years of age and align with state and federal laws.
Summary

King County Board of Health (KCBOH) Code 19.12 sets the minimum legal sales age (MLSA) at 18 years of age for the sale of electronic smoking devices and unapproved nicotine delivery products. This is out of date and not aligned with state and federal laws that have been raised to age 21. The proposed amendments to KCBOH Code 19.12 would increase the MLSA to 21, which would bring it into alignment with state and federal regulations. 

Background

Raising the MLSA for tobacco and vapor products to 21 years is a strategy to help prevent and delay the initiation of tobacco product use.
 Nearly all tobacco product use begins during adolescence, and minors cite social sources such as older peers and siblings as a common source of access to tobacco and vapor products.1,
 Even though youth cigarette smoking has been declining, overall tobacco product use has increased in recent years, driven primarily by unprecedented increases in e-cigarette use.

As of December 20, 2019, Washington was one of 19 states that had adopted 21 as the new minimum legal age for tobacco products (Washington’s effective date was set for January 1, 2020). Congress raised the federal MLSA for tobacco products from 18 to 21 years of age on December 20, 2019, making this the law of the land nationwide.
Analysis
Electronic smoking devices as defined in KCBOH Code 19.12 are essentially synonymous with state and federal definitions of vapor products. This proposed amendment to KCBOH Code 19.12 align local code with state and federal laws by raising the MLSA from 18 to 21 for the sale of electronic smoking devices and unapproved nicotine delivery products within King County. 
Since this law has already been in place under both state and federal regulations for almost a year, there is virtually no impact by amending local code to align with laws already in place.
While there is no impact, it should be mentioned that state law still includes youth possession language, making it a class 3 civil infraction for any minor under 18 to be caught in possession of tobacco or vapor products. Minors 18-21 do not face this potential penalty. The maximum penalty for a class 3 civil infraction in Washington State is fifty dollars, not including statutory assessments.
The Healthy King County Coalition among other community partners have voiced concern that there is no evidence that youth possession laws work to reduce youth consumption and that these laws are unfairly focused on black, indigenous, people of color and sexual minorities due to the significant disparities in youth use of tobacco and vapor products. Most states that had increased the MLSA to 21 (prior to the federal law change) removed their possession language when they raised the MLSA. There are current efforts among these community partners to address this in the state legislature. 
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