

Dow Constantine
King County Executive
401 Fifth Avenue, Suite 800
Seattle, WA 98104-1818
206-263-9600 Fax 206-296-0194
TTY Relay: 711
www.kingcounty.gov

December 15, 2017

The Honorable Joe McDermott Chair, King County Council Room 1200 C O U R T H O U S E

Dear Councilmember McDermott:

I am pleased to transmit the names of six individuals, including myself, to serve on the Sound Transit Board of Directors.

Eighteen individuals are charged with the responsibility for governing Sound Transit, ten of whom are from King County. Members of the Sound Transit Board of Directors are in a unique position to provide oversight to this very important transportation agency. Sound Transit continues to play an increasingly important role in addressing our transportation challenges and contributing to the economic development of our region. This will require continued active engagement and oversight by the Board of Directors.

With that I am pleased to recommend the reappointment of the following five individuals, including myself, to continue serving on the Board of Directors:

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of the Honorable Nancy Backus, Mayor, City of Auburn, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Mayor Backus is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of the Honorable Dave Upthegrove, King County Councilmember, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Councilmember Upthegrove is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of the Honorable Pete von Reichbauer, King County Councilmember, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Councilmember von Reichbauer is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of the Honorable Jenny Durkan, Mayor, City of Seattle, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Mayor Durkan is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of the Honorable Dow Constantine, King County Executive, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Executive Constantine is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

I am also pleased to recommend the appointment of the following individual to the Sound Transit Board of Directors:

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the appointment of the Honorable David Baker, Mayor, City of Kenmore, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The appointment of Mayor Baker is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and expiring December 31, 2021.

A board profile and copies of appointment letters are enclosed for your information. This appointment request supports the King County Strategic Plan goal of public engagement by expanding opportunities to seek input, listen and respond to residents. Should you have any questions about these appointments please feel free to contact me at 206-263-9600.

Sincerely,

Dow Constantine King County Executive

**Enclosures** 

King County Councilmembers

ATTN: Grant Lahmann, Chief of Staff to Chair McDermott Jeff Muhm, Director of Council Initiatives Melani Pedroza, Clerk of the Council

Rick Ybarra, Liaison for Boards & Commissions Peter Rogoff, Sound Transit Chief Executive Officer