

KING COUNTY

1200 King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

Signature Report

June 14, 2016

Motion 14661

	Proposed No. 2016-0246.1 Sponsors Lambert
1	A MOTION confirming Henry Sladek, councilmember,
2	city of Skykomish, as an alternate member of the King
3	County Flood Control Zone District advisory committee,
4	representing the Sound Cities Association.
5	WHEREAS, in 2007, the council adopted Ordinance 15728 to form a countywide
6	flood control zone district to address flood protection needs, and
7	WHEREAS, Ordinance 15728 also created a fifteen-person advisory committee
8	for the district in accordance with RCW 86.15.070, and
9	WHEREAS, Ordinance 15728 provides for four nominees from the Sound Cities
LO	Association for a two-year seat to the advisory committee, subject to confirmation by the
11	council, and
12	WHEREAS, Ordinance 15728 directs the advisory committee to review and
13	recommend an annual work program and budget for the district, including capital
14	improvement program projects and funding levels and to submit recommendations to the
15	clerk of the King County council by August 31 of each year;
16	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:
17	The Sound Cities Association's nomination of Henry Sladek, councilmember, city
18	of Skykomish, as an alternate member on the King County Flood Control Zone District

- advisory committee for a two-year term, to expire on December 31, 2017, is hereby
- 20 confirmed.

21

Motion 14661 was introduced on 5/23/2016 and passed by the Metropolitan King County Council on 6/13/2016, by the following vote:

Yes: 8 - Mr. von Reichbauer, Ms. Lambert, Mr. Dunn, Mr. McDermott, Mr. Dembowski, Mr. Upthegrove, Ms. Kohl-Welles and Ms. Balducci

No: 0

Excused: 1 - Mr. Gossett

KING COUNTY COUNCIL KING COUNTY, WASHINGTON

J. Joseph McDermott, Chair

ATTEST:

Anne Noris, Clerk of the Council

Attachments: A. Letter to MKCC Chair re SCA KCFCDAC Appointment



36 Cities. A Million People. One Voice:

2016 Board of Directors

President Nancy Backus

Mayor City of Auburn

Vice President

David Baker Mayor

City of Kenmore

Treasurer Amy Walen

Mayor

City of Kirkland

Member-at-Large Bill Allison

Councilmember City of Maple Valley

Past President

Matt Larson

Mayor City of Snoqualmie

Members

.lim Ferrell

Mayor City of Federal Way

Leanne Guier

Mayor

City of Pacific

Bob Harrison

City Administrator City of Issaquah

Will Ibershof

Mayor City of Duvall

Hank Margeson

Council President City of Redmond

Marlla Mhoon

Councilmember

City of Covington

Dana Ralph

Councilmember City of Kent

Catherine Stanford

Deputy Mayor City of Lake Forest Park

Executive Director

Deanna Dawson

Sound Cities Association 6300 Southcenter Boulevard Suite 206 Tukwila, WA 98188 (206) 433-7168

SCA@SoundCities.org www.SoundCities.org

April 28, 2016

Councilmember Joe McDermott

King County Courthouse

516 Third Avenue, Suite 1200

Seattle, WA 98104

Dear Mr. Chair,

This letter is regarding a recommendation for appointment to the King County Flood Control District Advisory Committee (KCFCDAC). The Sound Cities Association (SCA) received notice that Councilmember Jennifer Sutton, Issaquah, needed to resign from her alternate seat on the KCFCDAC. SCA has completed its nomination process to find an interested, informed individual to serve on the KCFCDAC. The SCA Board of Directors confirmed this appointment at its April 27, 2016 meeting. SCA is pleased to endorse Councilmember Henry Sladek, Skykomish, as a member of the KCFCDAC filling the unexpired two-year term ending December 31, 2017. Councilmember Sladek can be contacted via email at hsladek@msn.com.

The process used by SCA assures geographic balance within the County, as well as the member's experience and interest. Your support of the SCA recommendations for appointment is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions, please contact Deanna Dawson, SCA Executive Director at 206-433-7170 or deanna@soundcities.org.

Sincerely,

Nancy Backus

President, Sound Cities Association

Mayor, City of Auburn

Reagan Dunn, Chair, King County Flood Control District Board of Supervisors Cc:

Dow Constantine, County Executive, King County

Brian Murray, River and Floodplain Management Section, King County

Grover Cleveland, Council Relations, King County