
 
              Leave Comparative Chart 

 

1a Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave 

(KCFML) 
Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Eligible 
Employee 

Employed at least 12 months 
(need not be 12 consecutive 
months of employment) and 
worked 1,250 hours in the past 12 
months 
 

29 CFR 825.100 

Employed at least 12 months and 
worked 510 hours (PT Local 587), 
or 910 hours (35-hr workweek), or 
1040 hours (40-hr workweek). 
 

KCC 3.12.220H(6), (7); KCC 
3.12.220I   

Employed at least 12 months and 
worked 1,250 hours in the past 12 
months.  
 

RCW 49.78.030 

Employees who receive paid 
leave benefits may use any or all 
of the employee’s choice of sick 
leave or other paid time off. 
 

RCW 49.12.270 (1) 
WAC 296-130-030 

Exemptions 
for Key 

Employees 

May deny reinstatement for 
highest paid 10% and denial is 
necessary to prevent "substantial 
and grievous economic injury” and 
employer notifies employee of its 
intent to deny reinstatement. 
 

29 CFR 825.217 

Not addressed. May deny reinstatement for 
highest paid 10% and denial is 
necessary to prevent "substantial 
and grievous economic injury” and 
employer notifies employee of its 
intent to deny reinstatement. 
 

RCW 49.78.030 (5) 

Not addressed. 

Reason for 
Leave 

(1) Birth of a child (within 12 
months of birth). 
(2) Placement of a child for 
adoption or foster care.  
(3) Serious health condition of 
employee's spouse, parent or 
child. 
(4) Serious health condition of 
employee that makes him/her 
unable to perform the functions of 
the position. 
(5) Qualifying exigency leave 
(6) Military caregiver leave 
 
 
 
 
29 CFR 825.112a 

(1) Birth and care of a child and/or 
placement of a child for adoption or 
foster care (within 12 months of 
birth, adoption or placement). 
(2) Care of the employee’s child or 
child of the employee’s spouse or 
domestic partner whose illness or 
health condition requires treatment 
or supervision by the employee. 
(3) Care of a family member who 
suffers from a serious health 
condition.   
(4) Employee’s serious health 
condition that makes him/her 
unable to perform the functions of 
the position. 
 
KCC 3.12.220 (H,I) 

(1) Birth and care of a child and/or 
placement of a child for adoption 
or foster care (within 12 months of 
birth, adoption or placement). 
(2) Care for the employee’s family 
member with a serious health 
condition or emergency. 
(3) Serious health condition of 
employee that makes him/her 
unable to perform the functions of 
the position.  
 
Note: Leave for pregnancy 
disability may be in addition to 
FMLA. 
 
 
RCW 49.78.020  

(1) Care for a child under 18 
years with a health condition 
requiring treatment or 
supervision.    
(2) Care for a child over 18 years 
who is incapable of self-care 
because of a mental or physical 
disability.  
(3) Care for a spouse, 
Washington State registered 
domestic partner, the parent of 
the employee, spouse or 
domestic partner, or grandparent 
of the employee who has a 
serious health condition or an 
emergency condition.   
 
RCW 49.12.265,  WAC 296-130 
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1b Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave 

(KCFML) 
Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Definitions 
of Family 
Member 

Spouse: Husband or wife as 
defined under state law for 
purposes of marriage in the state 
where the employee resides. 
 
Parent: Biological, adoptive, step or 
foster parent of an employee or an 
individual who stands or stood in 
loco parentis to an employee when 
the employee was a child. 
 
Son or daughter: Biological child, 
adopted child, foster child, 
stepchild, legal ward or child of a 
person standing in loco parentis, 
who is under 18 years of age or 18 
years or older and incapable of self-
care because of mental or physical 
disability.    
 
Son or daughter of a covered 
servicemember:  Biological, 
adopted, or foster child, stepchild, 
legal ward, or a child for whom the 
covered servicemember stood in 
loco parentis, and who is of any 
age. 
 
Son or daughter on active duty or 
call to active duty status:  The 
employee’s biological, adopted, or 
foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or 
a child for whom the employee 
stood in loco parentis, who is on 
active duty or called to active duty 
status, and who is of any age. 
 

Spouse: Husband or wife. 
 
Domestic partner: Two people in 
a domestic partnership, one of 
whom is a county employee, and 
who are listed in the employee’s 
Affidavit of Marriage/Domestic 
Partnership in Benefits, Payroll 
and Retirement. 
 
Employee’s parent: Biological or 
adoptive parent of an employee 
or an individual who stands or 
stood in loco parentis to an 
employee when the employee 
was a child.   
 
Parent of the spouse or domestic 
partner: Biological or adoptive 
parent of the employee’s spouse 
or domestic partner or an 
individual who stands or stood in 
loco parentis to the employee’s 
spouse or domestic partner when 
he or she was a child. 
 
Child: A biological child, adopted 
child, foster child, stepchild, legal 
ward or child of a person standing 
in loco parentis, who is under 18 
years of age or 18 years or older 
and incapable of self-care 
because of mental or physical 
disability. 
 
KCC 3.12.220 

Spouse: Husband or wife.  
 
Domestic Partner: Two people, one 
of whom is a county employee, who 
are in a Washington State 
registered domestic partnership and 
have been issued a certificate by 
the Secretary of State. 
 
Child: A biological child, adopted 
child, foster child, stepchild, legal 
ward or a child of a person standing 
in loco parentis, who is under 18 
years of age or 18 years or older 
and incapable of self-care because 
of mental or physical disability.  This 
also includes the child of a 
Washington State registered 
domestic partner. 
 
Parent: Biological parent of an 
employee or an individual who 
stands or stood in loco parentis to 
an employee when the employee 
was a child.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
RCW 49.78.020 and 26.60.030 

Spouse: Husband or wife. 
 
Domestic Partner: Two people, 
one of whom is a county 
employee, who are in a 
Washington State registered 
domestic partnership and have 
been issued a certificate by the 
Secretary of State. 
 
Employee’s parent: Biological or 
adoptive parent of an employee or 
individual who stands or stood in 
loco parentis to an employee 
when the employee was a child.     
 
Parent of the spouse or domestic 
partner: Parent of the employee’s 
spouse or Washington State 
registered domestic partner. 
 
Child: A biological child, adopted 
child, foster child, stepchild, legal 
ward or a child of a person 
standing in loco parentis, who is 
under 18 years old or 18 years or 
older and incapable of self-care 
because of a mental or physical 
disability. (Note: This does not 
include healthy newborns.) 
 
Grandparent: Parent of a parent of 
an employee. 
 
RCW 49.12.265 and 26.60.030 
WAC 296.130.020 
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1b 
continued 

Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

Definitions 
of Family 
Member 

Next of kin of a covered 
servicemember means: the nearest 
blood relative other than the 
covered servicememeber’s spouse, 
parent, son, or daughter, in the 
following order of priority:  Blood 
relatives who have been granted 
legal custody of the covered 
servicemember by court decree or 
statutory provisions, brothers and 
sisters, grandparents, aunts and 
uncles, and first cousins,  unless 
the covered servicemember has 
specifically designated in writing 
another blood relative as his or her 
nearest blood relative for purposes 
of military caregiver leave under the 
FMLA 
 
Note: FMLA does not cover 
domestic partners. 
 
29 CFR 825.800 
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1c Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave 

(KCFML) 
Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Length of 
Leave 

12 workweeks during any 12-month 
period.  King County has chosen to 
use the rolling calendar method of 
determination. 
29 CFR 825.100 
 
Intermittent/reduced leave:  
(1) By employer/employee 
agreement for the birth, adoption or 
placement of a child.   
(2) Without agreement when 
medically necessary for an 
employee's own or family member’s 
serious health condition.  
(3) Leave due to a qualifying 
exigency. 
29 CFR 825.202 
(4) If foreseeable and based on 
planned medical treatment, 
employee may temporarily be 
transferred to an alternative position 
for which the employee is qualified 
and provides equivalent pay and 
benefits. 
29 CFR 825.204 
 
Spouses of same employer: A 
husband and wife employed by KC 
are limited to a combined total of 12 
weeks of leave for birth, adoption or 
placement of a child.  
 
29 CFR 825.201b 
 

18 weeks of unpaid leave within a 
12-month period (rolling). 
 
 
 
 
Intermittent/reduced leave only:  
(1) For the birth, placement or 
adoption of a child and needs to 
be authorized by employee's 
appointing authority.    
(2) When medically necessary 
due to a serious health condition 
of the employee or a family 
member of the employee.  
(3) If foreseeable and based on 
planned medical treatment, 
employee may temporarily be 
transferred to an alternative 
position for which the employee is 
qualified 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
KCC 3.12.220 (I) 

12 workweeks during any 12-month 
period.  King County has chosen to 
use the rolling calendar method of 
determination. 
 
 
Intermittent/reduced leave:  
(1) By employer/employee 
agreement for the birth, adoption or 
placement of a child.   
(2) Without agreement when 
medically necessary for an 
employee's own or family 
member’s qualifying condition.  
(3) If foreseeable and based on 
planned medical treatment, 
employee may temporarily be 
transferred to an alternative 
position for which the employee is 
qualified and provides equivalent 
pay and benefits. 
 
49.78.230 
 
Limited Leave: An employee and 
his or her spouse or domestic 
partner who are eligible for WFLA 
and employed by KC are limited to 
a combined total of 12 weeks of 
leave for the birth, adoption or 
placement of a child. 
 
RCW 49.78.020, and 49.78.260 

Not addressed. 
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1d Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave 

(KCFML) 
Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Certifi-
cation for 

Leave 

May require certification from health 
care provider. Second opinion 
permitted at employer's expense if 
validity of certification doubtful. 
Third opinion at employer's 
expense conclusive. 
29 CFR 825.305 

Not addressed.  May require certification from 
health care provider. Second 
opinion permitted at employer's 
expense if validity of certification 
doubtful. Third opinion at 
employer's expense conclusive. 
RCW 49.78.050 

Employer may require certification. 

Employee 
Notice to 
Employer 

Foreseeable: 30 days    
29 CFR 825.302 
Unforeseeable: As soon as 
practicable (1-2 business days). 
Employees must provide sufficient 
notice to make employer aware of 
FMLA-qualifying leave. 
29 CFR 825.303 

Not addressed. Foreseeable: 30 days    
 
Unforeseeable: As soon as 
practicable (1-2 business days) 
 
 
 
RCW 49.78.040  

Not addressed. 

Altern-
ative 
Duty 
Work 

Employee may be required to work 
in an alternative position if 
employee is on intermittent or 
reduced-schedule leave.  
 
29 CFR 825.204a 

Not addressed. If employee requests intermittent 
leave/reduced leave schedule for their own 
or family member's serious health condition 
when the condition is foreseeable based on 
planned medical treatment, the employer 
may require the employee to transfer 
temporarily to an available alternative 
position for which the employee is qualified 
and: (a) has equivalent pay and benefits, 
and (b) better accommodates recurring 
periods of leave than the employee’s regular 
employment position. 
RCW 49.78.230 (2) 

Not addressed. 

Tran-
sitional 

Duty 
Work 

Employee is permitted, but not required, to 
accept light duty when certified for full-time 
FMLA. If certified for intermittent or reduced-
schedule FMLA, the employee may be 
required to accept alternative work for the 
hours he/she is able to work. (Note: Wage 
replacement in the form of workers’ 
compensation, short-term disability payment 
or long-term disability payment may be 
discontinued as a result of declining an offer 
of work.) 
29 CFR 825, 220d and 702d2 

Not addressed. Not addressed. Not addressed. 
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1e Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave (KCFML)

Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Seniority 

Service dates are adjusted for all 
unpaid leaves of absence, 
including family and medical 
leave that exceed 30 days in 
length. 
 
2005 Personnel Guidelines – 
Adjusted Service Date 

Accruals stop while employee is on 
leave, then restarts upon return to 
work. The employee is due the 
same seniority accrued before the 
date on which the leave 
commenced. 
 
 
KCC 3.12.220 (M2) 

The taking of WFLA leave shall not 
result in the loss of any benefit, 
including seniority or pension rights, 
accrued before the date on which 
the leave began. The employer is 
not required to grant benefits, 
including seniority or pension rights, 
during any period of leave. 
RCW 49.78.080 

Not addressed. 

Benefits 

An employee may choose to take this 
leave using whatever accruals he/she 
has in any order. However, if leave is 
for the employee’s own serious health 
condition, sick-leave accruals must 
be used first and exhausted before 
going on an unpaid status. 
 
Paid status: King County continues to 
pay its portion of health benefits 
(medical, dental and vision) and basic 
insurance benefits (life, accidental 
death and dismemberment and long-
term disability) during leave as if 
employee was not on leave. 
Employees continue to pay their 
enhanced insurance benefits (life, 
accidental death and dismemberment 
and long-term disability). 
 
Unpaid status: King County continues 
its contribution toward health care 
benefits (medical, dental and vision). 
The employee may self-pay for basic 
and enhanced insurance benefits 
(life, accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability). 
 
29 CFR 825.209 and 210  

KCFML runs concurrent with FMLA 
when employee is in an unpaid 
status. 
 
Unpaid status only: King County 
continues its contribution toward 
health care benefits (medical, 
dental and vision). The employee 
may self-pay for basic and 
enhanced insurance benefits (life, 
accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
KCC 3.12.220 (K) 

Paid status: King County continues 
to pay its portion of health benefits 
(medical, dental and vision) and 
basic insurance benefits (life, 
accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability) during leave as if 
employee was not on leave. 
Employees continue to pay their 
enhanced insurance benefits (life, 
accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability). 
 
Unpaid status only: King County 
continues its contribution toward 
health care benefits (medical, 
dental and vision). The employee 
may self-pay for basic and 
enhanced insurance benefits (life, 
accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability). 
 
 
 
RCW 49.78.080  

Not addressed. 
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1f Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

King County Family 
Medical Leave (KCFML)

Washington Family 
Leave Act (WFLA)  

Washington Family 
Care Act (WFCA) 

Re-
instatement 

Employee is entitled to: 
(1) Same or equivalent position with 
equivalent employment benefits, pay 
and other terms and conditions of 
employment (similar pay and 
benefits).  
29 CFR 825.214) 
 
If the employee is unable to perform 
an essential function of the position 
because of a physical or mental 
condition, including the continuation 
of a serious health condition, the 
employee has no right to restoration 
to another position under FMLA. 
However, the employer's obligations 
may be governed by the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA) and/or the 
Washington Law Against 
Discrimination (WLAD). Exception: 
conditions have changed during the 
leave (reduction in work force or 
reorganization). 
29 CFR 825.123 
 
If an employee fails to provide a 
requested fitness-for-duty certification 
to return to work, an employer may 
delay restoration until the employee 
submits the certificate. 
29 CFR 825.312 

Employee is entitled to: 
(1) The same position he or she held 
when the leave commenced, or  
(2) A position with equivalent status, 
benefits, pay and other terms and 
conditions of employment, and  
(3) The same seniority accrued before 
the date on which the leave began. 
 
(Note: Failure to return by expiration 
date of leave may result in termination.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
KCC 3.12.220 (M, N) 

Employee is entitled to: 
(1) Same or equivalent position with 
equivalent employment benefits, pay 
and other terms and conditions of 
employment at a workplace within 20 
miles of the employee’s workplace 
when leave commenced. 
(2) May not result in the loss of any 
employment benefits accrued before 
the date on which the leave 
commenced.  
RCW 49.78.080(1) 
 
Nothing in this section entitles any 
restored employee to: 
(1) The accrual of any seniority or 
employment benefits during any period 
of leave, or 
(2) Any right, benefit or position of 
employment other than any right, 
benefit or position to which the 
employee would have been entitled had 
the employee not taken the leave. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
RCW 49.78.070 

Not addressed. 

Posted 
Notice 

Posting required. 
 
29 CFR 825.300 

Not addressed. Posting required. 
 
RCW 49.78.200 

Posting required. 
 
RCW 49.12.275 

Enforce-  
ment 

U.S. Department of Labor.  
 
29 CFR 825 

King County. 
 
King County Code 3.12.220 

Washington Department of Labor 
and Industries.  
RCW 49.78.090 

Washington Department of Labor 
and Industries. 
RCW 49.12.280 
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2a 
Pregnancy, Childbirth, 
and Pregnancy-Related 

Conditions 
WAC 162-30-020 

Leave Without Pay 
(LWOP) 

King County Code 3.12.250

Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Washington Law 
Against 

Discrimination 
RCW 49.60 

Eligible 
Employee 

Female employees disabled 
because of pregnancy or childbirth. 

King County employees who are 
eligible for leave benefits. 

Individual with a physical or mental 
impairment that substantially limits 
one or more major life activities, a 
record of such impairment, or 
being regarded as having such an 
impairment. 
 
29 C.F.R. §1630.2(g) 

Individual with a sensory, mental 
or physical condition 
(abnormality) that is medically 
recognizable or diagnosable, 
exists as a record or history, or is 
perceived to exist whether or not 
it exists in fact. 
WAC 162-22-020(2) 

Exemptions  

If an employer can demonstrate 
business necessity for the 
employment action. For example, 
an employer hiring workers into a 
training program that cannot 
accommodate absences for the first 
two months might be justified in 
refusing to hire a pregnant woman 
whose delivery date would occur 
during those first two months. 

Not addressed. No.   No. 

Reason 
for Leave 

Disability because of pregnancy, 
childbirth or pregnancy-related 
condition. 
 

Not limited to purposes of 
recovering health.  

Permitting the use of leave can be 
a reasonable accommodation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
EEOC Enforcement Guidance on 
RA and UDHS, No. 915.002 
(3/1/99) at pp. 8-9. 

Permitting the use of leave can 
be a reasonable 
accommodation. 
 
WAC 162-22-025(2) – unfair 
practice to fail to make a 
reasonable accommodation. 
 
Riehl v. Foodmaker, Inc,. 152 
Wn.2d 138 (2004) – leave must 
be medically necessary. 
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2b 
Pregnancy, Childbirth, 
and Pregnancy-Related 

Conditions 
WAC 162-30-020 

Leave Without Pay 
(LWOP) 

King County Code 3.12.250

Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Washington Law 
Against Discrimination 

RCW 49.60 

Definitions 

Pregnancy: Includes, but not limited 
to, pregnancy, the potential to 
become pregnant and pregnancy-
related conditions.  
 
Pregnancy-related conditions: 
Includes, but not limited to, related 
medical conditions, miscarriage, 
pregnancy termination and the 
complications of pregnancy. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection 2 (a and b) 

Not addressed. 
 

Employee: An individual 
employed by an employer. 
29 C.F.R. §1630.2(f) 
 
Employer: A person engaged in 
an industry affecting commerce 
who has 15 or more employees 
for each working day in each of 
20 or more calendar weeks in the 
current or preceding calendar 
year, and any agent of such 
person. 
29 C.F.R. §1630.2(e)(1) 
 
Qualified individual with a 
disability: An individual with a 
disability who satisfies the 
requisite skill, experience, 
education and other job-related 
requirements of the employment 
position such individual holds or 
desires, and who can perform the 
essential functions of such 
position with or without 
reasonable accommodation. 
 
29 C.F.R. §1630.2(m) 

Employee: RCW 49.60.040(4.)  
 
Employer: Any person acting in 
the interests of an employer, 
directly or indirectly, who employs 
eight or more persons and does 
not include any nonprofit, religious 
or sectarian organization. 
RCW 49.60.040(3) 
 
Able worker with a disability:  
Person whose disability does not 
prevent the proper performance, 
with or without reasonable 
accommodation, of the particular 
job in question. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
WAC 162-22-020(3) 
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2c 
Pregnancy, Childbirth, 
and Pregnancy-Related 

Conditions 
WAC 162-30-020 

Leave Without Pay 
(LWOP) 

King County Code 3.12.250 
Americans with 

Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Washington Law 
Against 

Discrimination 
RCW 49.60 

Length of 
Leave 

For period of time that she is sick 
or temporarily disabled because of 
pregnancy or childbirth.  
 
May be in addition to FMLA leave. 

(1) Up to 30 days without pay if 
authorized in writing by employee’s 
appointing authority.   
(2) From 30 days to one year with 
written authorization from 
employee’s appointing authority and 
human resources director. 
(3) Special circumstances may allow 
approved extension beyond one 
year. 

Must be reasonable in duration 
and not pose an undue hardship.  
EEOC Enforcement Guidance on 
RA and UDHS, No. 915.002 
(10/17/2006) #16 
 
Intermittent/reduced-schedule 
only required if it is a reasonable 
accommodation and does not 
pose an undue hardship. 

Must be reasonable in duration 
and not pose an undue hardship.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
WAC 162-22-075 

Certifi-
cation 

May require certification of 
pregnancy, childbirth or pregnancy-
related disability. 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection 4 (a) (ii) 

If leave was granted for purposes of 
recovering health, the employee 
shall be required by the department 
director to submit a physician's 
statement concerning the 
employee's ability to resume duties 
prior to return to work.   
 
KCC 3.12.250E 

May request certification for 
reasonable accommodation; i.e., 
leave. 
 
 
 
EEOC Enforcement Guidance on 
RA and UDHS, No. 915.002 
(10/17/2006) #16 

May request certification to show 
a medical nexus between 
disability and need for 
accommodation. 
 
 
 
Riehl v. Foodmaker, Inc., 152 
Wn.2d 138 (2004) 

Employee 
Notice to 
Employer 

Not addressed. If employee wishes to return from 
LWOP before expected date, 
employee is required to submit a 
written request to his/her appointing 
authority at least 15 days before the 
exhaustion date.   
 
An employee may return from the 
leave before its expiration date if the 
employee provides the appointing 
authority with a written request at 
least 15 days prior to resuming 
duties. 
 
 
KCC 3.12.250F 

An individual must let the 
employer know that he/she needs 
an adjustment or change at work 
for a reason related to a medical 
condition. 
 
 

Employer must have knowledge 
of employee’s disability and need 
for leave. 
 
Goodman v. Boeing, Co., 127 
Wn.2d 401 (1995) -- an 
employee’s failure to request an 
accommodation does not absolve 
employer of obligation to 
accommodate (higher standard 
than under ADA). 
 
Downey v. Crowley Marine 
Services, Inc., 236 F.3d 1019 (9th 
Cir. 2001) – applying WA state 
law. 
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2d 
Pregnancy, Childbirth, 
and Pregnancy-Related 

Conditions 
WAC 162-30-020 

Leave Without Pay 
(LWOP) 

King County Code 3.12.250

Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Washington Law 
Against Discrimination 

RCW 49.60 

Tran-
sitional 
(Light) 
Duty 
Work 

Not addressed. Not addressed. Employer not required to 
eliminate essential job functions, 
but required to offer reassignment 
if qualified and vacant position 
exists. 
 
 
EEOC Technical Assistance 
Manual, Ch. 9.4 

An accommodation may include, 
but is not limited to, adjustments 
in job duties, work schedules or 
scope of work or changes in the 
job setting or condition of work, 
and notifying employee of vacant 
positions. 
 
WAC 162-22-065(2) 

Seniority 

Not addressed. Not addressed. Seniority system will prevail 
unless employer retained right to 
change seniority system and 
exercises that right frequently. 
 
Barnett v. U.S. Air Inc. 228 F. 3d 
1105 (9th Cir. 2000) 

See ADA column. 

Benefits 

Employer shall provide a woman a 
leave of absence for the period of 
time that she is sick or temporarily 
disabled because of pregnancy or 
childbirth. Employers must treat a 
woman on pregnancy-related leave 
the same as other employees on 
leave for sickness or other 
temporary disabilities. For example, 
if an employer provides paid leave 
for sickness or other temporary 
disabilities, the employer should 
provide paid leave for pregnancy-
related sickness or disabilities. 
 
 
 
Subsection 4 (a) (i) 

Health benefits (medical, dental and 
vision) are available through 
COBRA and by self-paying for basic 
and enhanced insurances (life, 
accidental death and 
dismemberment and long-term 
disability).   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
KCC 3.12.250D 

Employer cannot discriminate 
based on disability regarding the 
terms, conditions or privileges of 
employment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
42 U.S.C. §1211(a) 

Employer cannot discriminate 
based on disability regarding the 
terms or conditions of 
employment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
RCW 49.60.180(3) 
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2e 
Pregnancy, Childbirth, 
and Pregnancy-Related 

Conditions 
WAC 162-30-020 

Leave Without Pay 
(LWOP) 

King County Code 3.12.250

Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) 

Washington Law 
Against 

Discrimination 
RCW 49.60 

Re-
instatement 

Return to the same job or a similar 
job of at least the same pay, if she 
has taken a leave of absence only 
for the actual period of disability 
relating to pregnancy or childbirth.  
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection 4 (c) 

If leave was granted for purposes 
of recovering health, the employee 
shall be required by the department 
director to submit a physician's 
statement concerning the 
employee's ability to resume duties 
prior to return to work. 

Generally, same job unless 
circumstances have changed 
during the leave and reinstatement 
is unreasonable or presents an 
undue hardship.  
 
EEOC Enforcement Guidance on 
RA and UDHS, No. 915.002 
October 2002. Types of 
Reasonable Accommodation 
Related to Job Performance #18 

Generally, same job unless 
circumstances have changed 
during the leave and 
reinstatement is unreasonable or 
presents an undue hardship.  
 
 
 
 
WAC 162-22-075 – undue 
hardship 

Reassign-
ment 

Not addressed. King County offers a Reassignment 
Program to assist employees unable to 
continue in their jobs due to medical 
reasons. The program provides 
participants up to six months of priority 
for rehire into nonpromotional King 
County jobs that they are qualified to 
perform. You are entitled to the 
services of this program when it is 
determined that you are unable to 
continue in your present job but are 
able to work in another capacity. 
Please note that former employees 
eligible for the Reassignment Program 
must submit medical, work history and 
job application materials within one 
year of their termination date. 
 
PER 22-4-2 (AEP) 

Reassignment: If an employee can no 
longer perform the essential functions 
of his/her position and there is a vacant 
position he/she is qualified to fill, 
he/she is eligible for that position, 
absent undue hardship. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
EEOC Enforcement Guidance –  
reasonable accommodations and 
undue hardship under the ADA 
(10/17/2002).  

The following applies to 
nonpromotional positions: If the 
employee cannot perform his/her job 
but there is an open position that the 
employee is qualified for, the 
employer must take affirmative steps 
to help the employee transfer. To 
receive these services, the employee 
has a duty to cooperate with the 
employer in this process. 
 
 
Clarke v. Shoreline School District, 
106 Wn. 2d 102 720 p.2d 793(1986)  
 
Dean v. Municipality of Metropolitan 
Seattle-Metro, 104 Wn. 2d 627 
(1985) 

Posted 
Notice 

Not addressed. Not addressed. Posted notice required. Not addressed. 

Enforce-
ment 

Washington Human Rights 
Commission.  

Department director and/or human 
resources director. 

Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission (EEOC).   

Washington Human Rights 
Commission (HRC). 

 




