# King County

## KING COUNTY

1200 King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

## Signature Report

### January 19, 2011

#### **Motion 13407**

	Proposed No. 2010-0555.2 Sponsors Ferguson
1	A MOTION appointing members to the districting
2	committee in accordance with Section 650.30.20 of the
3	King County Charter.
4	WHEREAS, Section 650.30.10 of the King County Charter provides that the
5	boundaries of each council district "shall correspond as nearly as practical with the
6	boundaries of the election precincts, municipalities and census tracts and shall be: drawn
7	to produce districts with compact and contiguous territory, composed of economic and
8	geographic units and approximately equal in population," and
9	WHEREAS, Section 650.30.20 of the King County Charter provides for a five-
10	member districting committee to be appointed every ten years, for the council to appoint
11	four persons to the committee, and those four to appoint a fifth person, who shall serve as
12	the chair of the districting committee, and
13	WHEREAS, Section 650.30.30 of the King County Charter sets forth the
14	procedure for consideration, adoption and filing of the districting plan, and
15	WHEREAS, chapter 29A.76 RCW provides for redistricting by counties,
16	municipal corporations and special purpose districts, and
17	WHEREAS, the districting process should be conducted in a manner that ensures
18	the public the opportunity for public participation;
19	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT MOVED by the Council of King County:

20	In accordance with Section 650.30.20 of the King County Charter, the following
21	persons are hereby appointed to the districting committee:
22	1. Rod Dembowski
23	2. John Jensen
24	3. Sally Nelson
25	4. Sally Poliak
26	The districting committee is requested to conduct its business according to the

- 27 standards of the Open Public Meetings Act and to conduct at least one public hearing
- before adopting the districting plan.

29

Motion 13407 was introduced on 10/11/2010 and passed as amended by the Metropolitan King County Council on 1/18/2011, by the following vote:

Yes: 9 - Mr. Phillips, Mr. von Reichbauer, Mr. Gossett, Ms. Hague, Ms. Patterson, Ms. Lambert, Mr. Ferguson, Mr. Dunn and Mr.

McDermott

No: 0

Excused: 0

KING COUNTY COUNCIL KING COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Larry Gossett, Chair

ATTEST:

Anne Noris, Clerk of the Council

Attachments: None