

Dow Constantine

King County Executive 401 Fifth Avenue, Suite 800 Seattle, WA 98104-1818

206-263-9600 Fax 206-296-0194 TTY Relay: 711 www.kingcounty.gov

December 13, 2013

The Honorable Larry Gossett Chair, King County Council Room 1200 C O U R T H O U S E

Dear Councilmember Gossett:

I am pleased to transmit the names of seven individuals, including myself, to serve on the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority.

Sound Transit is charged with the development of a regional high capacity transit system. As you know, the agency has implemented a regional express bus system, a commuter rail system, and continues to make progress on the expansion of the regional light rail system.

Eighteen individuals are charged with the responsibility for governing Sound Transit, ten of whom are from King County. Members of the Sound Transit Board of Directors are in a unique position to provide oversight to this very important transportation agency. Sound Transit continues to play an increasingly important role in addressing our transportation challenges and contributing to the economic development of our region. This will require continued active engagement and oversight by the Board of Directors.

I am pleased to recommend the reappointment of the following individuals to continue serving on the Board of Directors:

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of The Honorable Dow Constantine, King County Executive, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Executive Constantine is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of The Honorable Pete von Reichbauer, King County Councilmember, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Councilmember von Reichbauer is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of The Honorable Fred Butler, Mayor, City of Issaquah, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Mayor Butler is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the reappointment of The Honorable Claudia Balducci, Councilmember, City of Belleuve, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The reappointment of Councilmember Balducci is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

I am also pleased to recommend the appointment of the following individuals to the Sound Transit Board of Directors:

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the appointment of The Honorable Ed Murray, Mayor, City of Seattle, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The appointment of Mayor Murray is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the appointment of The Honorable Mike O'Brien, Councilmember, City of Seattle, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The appointment of Councilmember O'Brien is for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2015.

Enclosed for consideration and approval by the King County Council is a motion confirming the appointment of The Honorable Dave Upthegrove, King County Councilmember, to the Sound Transit Board of Directors. The appointment of Councilmember Upthegrove is for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2014 and expiring December 31, 2017.

Should you have any questions about these appointments please feel free to contact Chris Arkills, Transportation Policy Advisory, King County Executive Office, at (206) 263-9648.

Sincerely,

Dow Constantine

King County Executive

Dow Contit

Enclosures

The Honorable Larry Gossett Page 2

King County Councilmembers

ATTN: Michael Woywod, Chief of Staff Anne Noris, Clerk of the Council

Carrie S. Cihak, Chief Advisor, Policy and Strategic Initiatives, King County Executive Office (KCEO)

Chris Arkills, Transportation Policy Advisor, King County Executive's Office Marcia Walker, Sound Transit Board Administrator Joni Earl, Sound Transit Chief Executive Officer Rick Ybarra, Liaison for Boards & Commissions