

King County

1200 King County Courthouse 516 Third Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

Meeting Agenda Mobility and Environment Committee

Councilmembers:

Rod Dembowski, Chair;

Pete von Reichbauer, Vice Chair;

Claudia Balducci, Kathy Lambert, Jeanne Kohl-Welles, Joe McDermott, Dave Upthegrove, Girmay Zahilay

Lead Staff: Leah Krekel-Zoppi (206-477-0892) Committee Clerk: Marka Steadman (206 477-0887)

9:30 AM

Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Virtual Meeting

PUBLIC NOTICE: The Mobility and Environment Committee meetings will be held virtually until further notice. To help prevent the spread of the COVID 19 virus, the Chambers will be closed and all committee members and staff will be participating in the meeting remotely. The live feed of the video conference will be streaming on the King County Council's website and on KCTV Channel 22. Ways to provide public comment are noted below.

Pursuant to K.C.C. 1.24.035 A. and F., this meeting is also noticed as a meeting of the Metropolitan King County Council, whose agenda is limited to the committee business. In this meeting only the rules and procedures applicable to committees apply and not those applicable to full council meetings.

HOW TO PROVIDE PUBLIC COMMENT: The Mobility and Environment Committee values community input and looks forward to hearing from you on agenda items.

You may comment in writing on agenda items by submitting your comments using the link below. If your comments are submitted by 8:00 a.m. on the day of the meeting, they will be distributed to the Committee members and appropriate staff prior to the meeting.

Click Here to Submit Written Public Comment or email kcccomitt@kingcounty.gov



Sign language and communication material in alternate formats can be arranged given sufficient notice (296-1000).

TDD Number 296-1024.

ASSISTIVE LISTEMING DEVICES AVAILABLE IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS.



HOW TO WATCH/LISTEN TO THE MEETING: There are several ways to watch or listen in to the meeting:

1) Stream online via this link:

https://livestream.com/accounts/15175343/events/4485487 or input the link web address into your web browser.

- 2) Watch King County TV Channel 22 (Comcast Channel 22 and 322(HD), Wave Broadband Channel 22)
- 3) Listen to the meeting by telephone.

Dial: 1 253 215 8782 Meeting ID: 976 6367 1120

Password: 272117

To help us manage the meeting, please use the Livestream or King County TV options, if possible, to watch or listen to the meeting.

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call

3. Approval of Minutes

September 9, 2020, special meeting minutes

Consent

4. Proposed Motion No. 2020-0406

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of Amanda León, who resides in council district three, to the King County conservation futures advisory committee, filling an executive at-large position.

Sponsors: Ms. Lambert

Jake Tracy, Council staff

5. Proposed Motion No. 2020-0407

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of Jen Syrowitz, who resides in council district nine, to the King County conservation futures advisory committee, filling an executive at-large position.

Sponsors: Mr. Dunn

Jake Tracy, Council staff

6. Proposed Motion No. 2020-0409

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of Emily Scott, who resides in council district eight, to the Vashon Island ferry advisory committee.

Sponsors: Mr. McDermott

Mary Bourguignon, Council staff

7. Proposed Motion No. 2021-0037

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of Tahmina Martelly, who resides in council district five, to the King conservation district advisory committee, as a representative of a governmental or non-governmental organization that specially promotes equity and social justice.

Sponsors: Mr. Upthegrove

Jake Tracy, Council staff

8. Proposed Ordinance No. 2020-0394

AN ORDINANCE relating to the shoreline master program, and amending Ordinance 3692, Section 2, as amended, and K.C.C. 20.12.200.

Sponsors: Mr. Dembowski

Jenny Ngo, Council staff

9. Proposed Ordinance No. 2020-0024

AN ORDINANCE relating to sewer system utility planning; and amending Ordinance 13625, Section 22, as amended, and K.C.C. 13.24.035.

Sponsors: Mr. McDermott

Andy Micklow, Council staff

10. Proposed Ordinance No. 2020-0361

AN ORDINANCE adopting and ratifying Growth Management Planning Council Motion 20-1.

Sponsors: Mr. Dembowski

Andy Micklow, Council staff

11. Proposed Motion No. 2021-0042

A MOTION providing direction to the conservation futures advisory committee on priorities for allocating conservation futures tax levy proceeds.

Sponsors: Mr. Dunn

Jake Tracy, Council staff

12. Proposed Motion No. 2021-0047

A MOTION providing direction to the conservation futures advisory committee on priorities for allocating conservation futures tax levy proceeds.

Sponsors: Mr. Dembowski

Leah Krekel-Zoppi, Council staff

Discussion and Possible Action

13. Proposed Ordinance No. 2020-0234

AN ORDINANCE naming the park complex of Preston Athletic Fields, Preston Park and Preston Mill as the Jim Ellis Memorial Regional Park at Preston in honor of the late James Reed "Jim" Ellis, considered one of King County's greatest civic leaders.

Sponsors: Ms. Lambert, Mr. Dembowski, Mr. Upthegrove, Ms. Balducci, Mr. von

Reichbauer and Mr. Dunn

Jake Tracy, Council staff

14. Proposed Motion No. 2021-0036

A MOTION confirming the executive's appointment of the Honorable Mary Lou Pauley, mayor, city of Issaquah, who resides in council district three, to the King County waterworks grant ranking committee, as the district three representative.

Sponsors: Ms. Lambert

Mike Reed, Council staff

15. Proposed Motion No. 2021-0004

A MOTION relating to the King County Metro Transit Strategic Plan for Public Transportation 2011-2021 and King County Metro Transit Service Guidelines and accepting the King County Metro Transit 2020 System Evaluation.

Sponsors: Mr. Dembowski and Mr. Upthegrove

Mary Bourguignon, Council staff

Discussion Only

16. Proposed Motion No. 2020-0288

A MOTION relating to the 2020 Strategic Climate Action Plan, submitted in compliance with K.C.C 18.25.010.

Sponsors: Mr. Dembowski and Mr. Upthegrove

Jenny Giambattista, Council staff Jake Tracy, Council staff

Briefing

17. Briefing No. 2021-B0010

Metro Transit Policy Updates - 2021

Mary Bourguignon, Council staff
Terry White, General Manager, Metro Transit Department
Katie Chalmers, Service Planning Supervisor, Metro Transit Department
Tessa McClellan, Government Relations Administrator, Metro Transit Department

Other Business

Adjournment