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SUBJECT

Briefing on the Status of the Implementation of I-502, Washington’s New Approach to Marijuana Laws

SUMMARY

Initiative 502 (I-502) amends Washington's controlled substances statutes to allow adults, age 21 and over, to purchase, possess, and use small amounts of marijuana.  It also establishes the means for regulating the production, processing, sales, and taxing of marijuana.  The Initiative includes three main components that:
 
· Removes state criminal penalties on specific amounts of marijuana. Further, while current DUI laws remain unchanged, Initiative 502 adds a driving under-the-influence legal threshold for marijuana (THC levels), similar to the levels defined to establish driver impairment from alcohol;
· Establishes the requirement that the state’s Liquor Control Board develop a system to license and regulate marijuana producers, processors, retailers, and possession for persons over the age of 21; and,
· Tax marijuana sales at the state and local level; dedicating a percentage of the tax revenue for substance-abuse prevention, research, education, and healthcare. 

I-502 made no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Furthermore, marijuana remains a controlled substance under federal law.  The following sections summarize the major provisions of the initiative.  In addition, this report includes a brief summary the status of the state’s rulemaking process.  

BACKGROUND

On November 6, 2012, Washington voters approved Initiative 502 (I-502) with 55.7 percent of the vote; the measure passed by 63.5 percent in King County.  Marijuana, prior to the passage of I-502, had been a controlled substance and persons possessing even minor amounts of the drug could be subject to criminal charges, prison time, and subsequent criminal records.  A research report released by the Marijuana Arrest Research Project in 2012 documented that over 240,000 people (disproportionately young and African American) had been arrested in Washington for minor marijuana possession between 1986 and 2012. 

I-502 was not the state’s first measure related to the use of marijuana.  In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  The initiative limited criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid documentation" from their physician or medical professional affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure.  In 2011, the legislature adopted ESSB 5073 that would have addressed these concerns by developing a framework for regulating medical marijuana dispensaries and establishing a statewide registry of patients with valid authorizations.  The Governor choose to veto significant portions of the legislation, primarily those that would have regulated the sellers and users, while leaving intact several elements of the bill that became law.  These elements have been interpreted by the courts to allow the establishment of “collective gardens” that have evolved into unregulated marijuana dispensaries.  Further, while the law establishes the rights of those with authorization to use medical marijuana, the mechanisms that would have allowed law enforcement to validate authorizations were also vetoed.  I-502 makes no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Consequently, there are still several areas of concern related to the medical marijuana “industry” that remain unresolved and will not be resolved through the implementation of I-502.

The cultivation, transport, sale, and possession of marijuana remains a federal crime.  State officials have met with federal representatives to describe the state’s plans for implementing a “well-regulated” system that allows recreational use of the drug, while taking significant measures to limit its availability to youth, and to provide sources of funding for the prevention of abuse.  According to the state, the federal government will be reviewing the implementation of I-502 and does not have any current plans to intercede in its implementation.

Changes in Criminal Sanctions. Initiative 502 changes state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older, or for those licensed by the state (the initiative specifically states that these limited types of possession are “not a violation of Washington state law”).  The amounts of marijuana that will be legal for an individual to purchase/possess under I-502 are: 

	(1) one ounce of useable marijuana (28.35 grams); 
	(2) 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in a solid form; or 
	(3) 72 ounces of marijuana-infused products in liquid form.  

The state Liquor Control Board (LCB) will establish the legal amounts that licensed producers, processors, and retailers may possess.  

It is still a violation of state law to possess, possess for sale, sell, or transport illegal, or unlicensed, amounts of marijuana or marijuana products.  It remains a violation of state law for anyone under 21 years of age to possess any amount of marijuana.  It is also unlawful under I-502 to open a package of marijuana or marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  However, violators of this section will only be subject to a Class 3 civil infraction (currently a $103 fine).    

Adding Marijuana to DUI Laws Under this measure, current DUI laws have been modified to add specific provisions related to “Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana,” but otherwise remain unchanged. Initiative 502 does establish a driving under-the influence threshold for marijuana of five nanograms of active THC metabolite (the active ingredient of marijuana) per milliliter of blood for those 21 or older, and establishes that any THC for drivers under age 21 is a violation.  This level parallels the amounts established for defining illegal blood alcohol levels.  The provisions for the enforcement of DUI laws also remains the same but adds provisions related to testing for and determining THC levels.    

As a result, if a law enforcement officer believes an individual is driving under the influence of anything, they will conduct a field sobriety test and may consult with a drug recognition expert. If officers establish probable cause, they will bring the individual to a precinct and ask permission to draw blood for testing. If officers have reason to believe the individual is under the influence of some intoxicant (alcohol or any other drug, including prescription medications), they can get a warrant for a blood draw from a judge. For drivers involved in a serious accident, then a blood draw remains mandatory.  The blood draw will establish the amount of alcohol and/or THC in the individual’s blood system.  The DUI penalties and sanctions are the same regardless of whether the intoxication was the result of alcohol or marijuana.

Establishing Regulations for Licensing Producers, Processors, and Retailers Initiative 502 authorizes the Liquor Control Board (LCB) to license and regulate marijuana use for persons over the age of 21.   Under I-502, marijuana would be sold to consumers exclusively by privately owned and operated, licensed retail outlets who may sell only marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and related products that are for using and storing marijuana. Retailers may only sell marijuana produced by LCB licensed producers and processed by LCB licensed processors. Processors must purchase marijuana from licensed Washington producers, and retailers must purchase marijuana from Washington licensed producers and processors.  Section 5 of I-502 states that licensed producers and processors cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in a licensed retailer.  Therefore, a grower can also have a separate processing license, but cannot sell their product at the retail level.

I-502 requires that each producer, processor, and retailer apply for a license and requires a separate application and license for every location.  The measure sets a $250 application fee for each type of license and an annual $1,000 fee for issuance and renewal of the licenses.  Licenses can only be issued to individuals (or groups where all members meet state requirements) that are over 21 years old and have legally resided in Washington for three months prior to applying.  The LCB is allowed to consider criminal history of applicants, but it will be up to the LCB to establish how applicant criminal history will be used. The manager/operators for each license must also meet all of the state requirements of age, residency and criminal history.  

The LCB must adopt rules by December 1, 2013, that establish procedures and criteria necessary to perform the following: 

1. License marijuana producers, marijuana processors and marijuana retailers, including prescribing forms and establishing application, reinstatement, and renewal fees; 
2. Determine, in consultation with the Office of Financial Management (OFM), the maximum number of retail outlets that may be licensed in each county; 
3. Determine the maximum quantity of marijuana a marijuana producer may have on the premises of a licensed location or retail outlet at any time without violating state law; 
4. Determine the nature, form, and capacity of all containers to be used by licensees to contain marijuana and marijuana infused projects, and their labeling requirements; 
5. Establish reasonable time, place and manner restrictions and requirements regarding advertising of marijuana; and 
6. Specify procedures for the identifying, seizing, confiscating, destroying, and donating to law enforcement for training purposes all marijuana, processed, packaged, labeled or offered for sale in Washington State that do not conform in all respects to the standards prescribed by the Initiative. 

Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the LCB is required to provide notice of the application to the chief executive officer of the incorporated city or town, or “to the county legislative authority, if the application is for a license within that jurisdiction.” The official or employee designated by the city, town, or county has the right to file with the LCB a written objection against the applicant and may request an administrative hearing within 20 days for applications and 30 days in the case of objections to renewals.  The LCB is required to give “substantial weight” to the local objection to the license or renewal only when the objection is based on suspected criminal activity.   The measure does, however, prohibit licenses within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, recreation center or facility, child care center, public park, public transit center, library, or a game arcade accessible by patrons under 21 years old.  In discussions with LCB officials, it appears that state rules will take into consideration existing local land use and zoning ordinances in reviewing license applications, but noted that local attempts at restrictive zoning for LCB-licensed marijuana establishments will likely be preempted by state law.  

New Revenues and Taxes  In addition to the revenues from application and license fees, Initiative 502 levies a new Marijuana Excise Tax equal to 25 percent of the selling price for producer sales to processors, 25 percent for processor sales to retailers, and 25 percent for retailer sales to individuals. The marijuana excise tax will be administered by the LCB. The state Office of Financial Management (OFM) estimates that the state could garner up to $500 million annually after full implementation in 2015.  (The OFM Fiscal Impact analysis is attached.)  Nevertheless, the state’s recently engaged consultant has suggested that this revenue projection is probably overstated and could be significantly lower. 

General state and local sales and use taxes, and business and occupation taxes will also apply to the sale of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.

Distribution of State Revenues The initiative provides for annual distributions of $500,000 for the Washington State Health Youth survey; $200,000 for cost-benefit evaluations by the Washington State Institute for Public Policy; $20,000 for web-based public educational materials about the health and safety risks posed by marijuana use; and, $5 million annually for LCB administration. 

The remaining excise taxes are to be distributed as follows:

	Program
	Amount

	Washington State Basic Health Plan
	50.0%

	State General Fund
	18.7%

	Department of Social and Health Services Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery for youth substance abuse prevention programs selected in consultation with the University of Washington (UW) Social Development Research Group and Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute
	15.0%

	Department of Health for marijuana education and public health programs, to include a Marijuana Quitline and a local health department grants program that supports coordinated intervention strategies for youth
	10.0%

	Community Health Centers
	5.0%

	University of Washington and Washington State University for research on the short and long term effects of marijuana use, to include intoxication and impairment
	1.0%

	Building Bridges programs to prevent and reverse student drop-out rates
	0.3%



The Office of Financial Management places a price estimate of $12 per gram for marijuana (one ounce equals 28.35 grams). According to OFM, medicinal marijuana dispensary prices on average range between $10 and $15 per gram with some premium products exceeding $15 per gram.  Based on average retail mark-up practices, estimated producer price is $3 per gram and estimated processor price is $6 per gram.

Liquor Control Board Rule-Making Process.  The LCB initiated its processes to implement I-502 soon after the measure was certified by the Secretary of State in late 2012.  The board is using an internal workgroup that parallels its efforts to move from state liquor stores to private retailers.  In addition, the LCB also identified the need for a consultant with product and industry knowledge, experience in establishing product quality standards and testing, validation of projected marijuana usage and consumption, and validation of the board’s product regulations.

In March, LCB selected BOTEC Analysis Corporation, a think-tank specializing in crime and drug policy to act as the WSLCB’s primary consultant. According to the LCB, BOTEC has over thirty years of experience in marijuana-related research and advising governments on the methods to maximize the effectiveness of crime and drug control policies while minimizing their attendant societal costs.

The LCB has already conducted a series of meetings at locations throughout the state to take public input on its I-502 rule making process.  The board’s actual rule making process will begin with hearings on rules for producers in May, followed by rules for processors and retailers in June.  The LCB anticipates it could begin accepting producer license applications as early as June, and processor and retailer license applications in September.  The LCB’s tentative timeline is attached. 

In King County, the Executive is convening an inter branch team for identifying, analyzing, vetting, developing and recommending policy issues and solutions surrounding cannabis legalization, including state and local rules and legislation.
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[bookmark: _GoBack]Alison Holcomb, ACLU of Washington Drug Policy Director; Author of Initiative 502

ATTACHMENTS

1. Tentative I-502 Implementation Timeline, Washington Liquor Control Board, January 9, 2013
2. Office of Financial Management Initiative 502 Fiscal Impact 
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