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SUBJECT

State Legislative Changes to Medical Marijuana Laws.

SUMMARY

The Adoption of Initiative 692 (I-692) in 1998, established legal parameters for the possession and use of marijuana for medical purposes.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure. The legislature attempted to correct these issues in 2011, but a Governor’s veto created more problems rather than resolving those already identified.  In 2012, voters adopted Initiative 502 (I-502) which amends Washington's controlled substances statutes to allow adults, age 21 and over, to purchase, possess, and use small amounts of marijuana for recreational purposes.  It also establishes the means for regulating the production, processing, sales, and taxing of marijuana.  In its 2015 session, the legislature adopted, and the Governor signed, ESSB 5052 which will require that the state’s medical marijuana producers, processors, and retail providers come under the state’s marijuana regulatory system managed by the Liquor Control Board (LCB--to become the Liquor and Cannabis Board in July 2015).  This briefing will present a summary of the new regulatory structure contained in the legislation. 

BACKGROUND

In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to decriminalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692[footnoteRef:1].  The initiative limited criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid documentation" from their physician or medical professional affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."  The initiative did not, however, “legalize” marijuana.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that were not adequately addressed in the original measure, or in subsequent legislation passed by the state[footnoteRef:2].  This is more fully described below. [1:  RCW Chapter 69.51A ]  [2:  ESSB 5073 passed by the state legislature in 2011.] 


On November 6, 2012, Washington voters approved Initiative 502 (I-502) with 55.7 percent of the vote; the measure passed by 63.5 percent in King County.  Initiative 502 changed state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older.  Marijuana, prior to the passage of I-502, had been a controlled substance and persons possessing even minor amounts of the drug could be subject to criminal charges, prison time, and subsequent criminal records.  While the cultivation, transport, sale, and possession of marijuana remain federal crimes, state officials have met with federal representatives to describe the state’s plans for implementing a “well-regulated” system that allows recreational use of the drug, while taking significant measures to limit its availability to youth, and to provide sources of funding for the prevention of abuse.  

I-502 Changes in Criminal Sanctions. Initiative 502 changes state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older, or for those licensed by the state (the initiative specifically states that these limited types of possession are “not a violation of Washington state law”).  The state Liquor Control Board (LCB) has established the legal amounts that licensed producers, processors, and retailers may possess based on their license.  The LCB has also established rules for the transport of marijuana from one licensee to another. 

It is still a violation of state law to possess, possess for sale, sell, or transport illegal, or unlicensed, amounts of marijuana or marijuana products.  It remains a violation of state law for anyone under 21 years of age to possess any amount of marijuana.  It is also unlawful under I-502 to open a package of marijuana or marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  The initiative also established new standards for marijuana-related driving under the influence laws.

In contrast to the state’s recreational marijuana limits, under the state’s medical marijuana statutes adopted with I-692, a person—even individuals under 21 years of age--with medical authorization, have an “affirmative defense” against prosecution (the measure did not provide for protection from arrest) if they possess 24 ounces of marijuana or up to 15 marijuana plants.  Further, up to ten patients can collectively grow 150 marijuana plants as part of a “collective garden.”  The initiative did not establish a state regulatory system for medical marijuana, or a registry of authorized patients or providers.  Of the 22 states and the District of Columbia with medical marijuana laws, only the State of Washington does not have some form of registry (20 states and the District of Columbia have mandatory registries and two states have voluntary registries).   The courts have ruled that collective gardens which are allowed under state law—even when constituted as medical marijuana dispensaries--can serve many more than ten patients, as long as the dispensary does not serve more than ten patients at any one time.  

I-502 Revenues and Excise Taxes In addition to the revenues from application and license fees collected by the LCB, I-502 levies a Marijuana Excise Tax equal to 25 percent of the selling price for producer sales to processors, 25 percent for processor sales to retailers, and 25 percent for retailer sales to individuals (this is an effective rate of 36.5 percent). General state and local sales and use taxes, and business and occupation taxes will also apply to the sale of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.  There were no state statutory or regulatory requirements for the payment of taxes for medical marijuana; however, some local jurisdictions allowed medical marijuana dispensaries to obtain business licenses and some dispensaries have collected, and transmitted to the state, local sales and use taxes on medical marijuana. 

In its June 2015 economic forecast, the state’s Economic and Revenue Forecast Council estimates the state will reap $374 million in marijuana taxes in the 2015-17 budget cycle and about $695 million in the 2017-19 budget years. The projected revenue from marijuana in the current two-year budget is about $53 million.  This projection is significantly higher than the state’s February estimates when the council estimated $190 million in marijuana-related revenue over the next four years.  Nevertheless, the legislature is still reviewing partisan proposals to change the I-502 excise tax structure.  As of June 3, 2015, the Democratic proposal calls for a retail sales tax of 30 percent, estimated to raise $214 million instead of $374 million. The Republican proposal calls for a retail sales tax of 37 percent, which is estimated to raise $325 million.  It should be noted that, current law (from the initiative) allocates the funding to a variety of state sources, including 50 percent of the excise tax revenues to the state’s Basic Health Plan, which no longer exists.  The legislature will have to take action to reallocate these revenues.

Establishing Recreational Marijuana Regulations I-502 required that the LCB develop rules to license and regulate marijuana use for persons over the age of 21.   Under I-502, marijuana will be sold to consumers exclusively by privately owned and operated, licensed retail outlets who may sell only marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and related products for using and storing marijuana. Retailers may only sell marijuana produced by LCB licensed producers and processed by LCB licensed processors. Processors must purchase marijuana from licensed Washington producers, and retailers must purchase marijuana from Washington licensed producers and processors.  Section 5 of I-502 states that licensed producers and processors cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in a licensed retailer.  Therefore, a grower/producer licensee can also have a separate processing license, but cannot sell their product at the retail level.  The LCB adopted rules in October 2013 for licensing and products. 

I-502 requires that each producer, processor, and retailer apply for a license and requires a separate application and license for every location.  The rules prohibit licenses within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, recreation center or facility, child care center, public park, public transit center, library, or a game arcade accessible by patrons under 21 years old.  The LCB leaves it to local jurisdictions to determine whether applicants meet existing local land use and zoning ordinances.  The rules also established requirements for packaging (to ensure that packaging was not appealing to children), product safety testing, and facility security.

Local Review of Applications  Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the LCB is required to provide notice of the application to the chief executive officer of the incorporated city or town, or “to the county legislative authority, if the application is for a license within that jurisdiction.” The official or employee designated by the city, town, or county has the right to file with the LCB a written objection against the applicant and may request an administrative hearing within 20 days for applications and 30 days in the case of objections to renewals.  In November 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17693 which will have the county review of marijuana related license applications follow the same process as the county’s review of liquor license applications.  
While King County adopted land use regulations for recreational marijuana businesses, several communities and jurisdictions across Washington, and in King County, have enacted local bans or moratoriums. In a formal Attorney General Opinion issued January 16, 2014, the Attorney General’s Office concluded that “I-502 left in place the normal powers of local governments to regulate within their jurisdictions” and that “…nothing in I-502 limits that authority with respect to licensed marijuana businesses.” As a result, it appears that local jurisdictions can ban or severally limit marijuana businesses in their jurisdictions.  
In an advisory letter from the LCB, the board noted that “while the law (I-502) is silent on the issue of local bans, there is also nothing with the law which allows for the board to deny licenses to qualified applicants. If an applicant meets the state’s criteria for licensure, the board will issue a state license. Like any other type of business, a licensee must be in compliance with local laws and regulations.”  Therefore, businesses may receive licenses but be unable operate in these jurisdictions.  The LCB has advised jurisdictions that the LCB will not reallocate retail licenses in jurisdictions which have local bans to adjacent jurisdictions that have no bans or moratoria.
Many jurisdictions have taken some form of legislative action related to medical marijuana businesses.  In December 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17726. This ordinance established a one-year moratorium prohibiting the location, establishment or expansion of any medical marijuana collective garden or medical marijuana dispensary authorized under RCW 69.51A in unincorporated King County, whether for profit or not-for-profit.  The Council extended this moratorium in December 2014 for six months with adoption of Ordinance 17940 through June 2015.  The Council recently adopted Ordinance 18059, which will extend the moratorium for another six months through December 2015.
Under the provisions of the moratorium, the county will not issue a building permit, occupancy permit, public health approval or development permit or approval of any kind for a "medical marijuana collective garden” or a "medical marijuana dispensary.”  Furthermore, the ordinance nullifies any land use approvals or other permits for any of these operations that are issued as a result of error or by use of vague or deceptive descriptions during the moratorium. 

Medical Marijuana Had Not Conformed to the Recreational Regulatory System  As noted above, I-502 was not the state’s first measure related to the use of marijuana.  In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure.  

In 2011, the legislature adopted ESSB 5073 that would have addressed these concerns by developing a framework for regulating medical marijuana dispensaries and establishing a statewide registry of patients with valid authorizations.  The Governor choose to veto significant portions of the legislation, primarily those elements that would have regulated the sellers and users, while leaving intact several elements of the bill that ultimately became law.  One of these elements has been interpreted by the courts to allow the establishment of “collective gardens” that now act as unregulated marijuana dispensaries.  Further, while the law establishes the rights of those with authorization to use medical marijuana, the mechanisms that would have allowed law enforcement to validate authorizations were also vetoed.  I-502 made no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Consequently, there were still several areas of concern related to the medical marijuana “industry” that remain unresolved and have not be resolved through the implementation of I-502.  As a result, changes were needed to make the medical marijuana system “well regulated” to ensure that the federal government does not intervene.  The legislature took no action to address medical marijuana in its 2014 session, however, action was taken in 2015.

2ESSB 5052 The Cannabis Patient Protection Act  On April 24, 2015, the Governor signed ESSB 5052, the Cannabis Patient Protection Act,  legislation intended to regulate the medical marijuana system.  The legislation will require that state (the Department of Health working with the Liquor Control Board—which will become the Liquor and Cannabis Board in July 2015) establish a series of standards for medical marijuana and also develop systems for the voluntary registration of patients.  

Unlike the provisions of I-502, those under 21 years of age would be eligible to be identified as qualifying patients.  Health care providers would determine if a patient qualifies, determine the amounts of marijuana needed by the patient, and can issue a “authorization” form to the patient.  Under the provisions of the legislation, the Department of Health would be required to establish a variety of standards for health care providers to authorize marijuana for patients and would establish a database for qualifying patients or designated providers (providers are adult caregivers allowed to obtain medical marijuana for those under 21 years of age).  While health care providers would issue authorizations for medical marijuana, medical marijuana retailers would be responsible for entering the authorization data into a state registry and issuing a “recognition” card.  With registration, an authorized user can obtain medical marijuana products, possess marijuana if they are under 21 years of age, grow marijuana, and legally possess amounts of marijuana larger that recreational users.  

The legislation establishes the legal amount of marijuana a “qualifying patient” may possess that differs from I-502 amounts.  The following table compares the legal amounts.

Legal Amounts of Marijuana
Recreational and Medical
	I-502-Recreational
	2ESSB 5052-Medical

	· 1 oz. of useable marijuana (28.35 grams)
	· 3 oz. of useable marijuana

	· 16 oz. of marijuana-infused product in a solid form
	· 48 oz. of marijuana-infused product in a solid form

	· 7 grams of marijuana concentrates
	· 21 grams of marijuana concentrates 

	· 72 oz. of marijuana-infused products in liquid form
	· 216 oz. of marijuana-infused products in liquid form

	· No home grow
	· Grow six plants in domicile

	
	· Participate in cooperative noncommercial grows

	
	· Patients can be authorized to have larger amounts based on health care needs



Along with the ability to grow marijuana in their own domiciles, the new statute allows up to four qualifying patients to establish growing cooperatives which must be registered with the LCB (that specifically cannot sell or trade marijuana products or be within one mile of a retailer with a medical endorsement).

The legislation also requires that the LCB establish a system of regulations for the production, processing, and retail sale of medical marijuana for patient’s use.  The LCB is required to work with the Department of Health to establish criteria for medical products (THC and cannabinoid levels).  The new regulations would also include a retail license with a “medical marijuana endorsement” where the retailer would meet special requirements for meeting the needs of medical marijuana users.  The legislature has established that prior recreational license applicants, along with operators of medical marijuana “collective gardens” and “dispensaries” operating before the voter approval of I-502 on November 6, 2012, would have a priority in obtaining licenses with this endorsement.  The law would require that the LCB increase the maximum number of marijuana retail outlets and accept applications from new applicants, if necessary, to accommodate the medical needs of qualifying patients and designated providers.  Nevertheless, these establishments would have to meet all of the same regulatory standards for recreational stores—such as the 1,000 buffer zone. 

The legislation will eliminate the current provisions for commercial “collective gardens” starting July 1, 2016—and as a result, medical marijuana dispensaries will no longer be legal.  As a consequence, the “unregulated” medical marijuana dispensaries can continue to operate under existing strictures through the July 1, 2016 date.  The legislation leaves in place the legal protections for these collective gardens until July 2016 and afterwards allows noncommercial collective gardens (with no more than ten qualified patients with recognition cards and no more than 45 plants). The legislation is silent on the responsibility for enforcing these provisions.

The bill has several other provisions including the requirement to establish standards for medical marijuana use and to establish standards “medical marijuana consultants.”  It allows the LCB to conduct “controlled purchases” to determine if retailers are illegally selling products to underage individuals.

According to the LCB, the board currently has nine different teams working to develop how the transition will work but the main criteria for new licenses will be that a dispensary is paid up on its taxes and started business before legalization in 2013.

Issues Not Addressed by the Legislature in the Regular Session While the legislature did create a framework for the regulation of medical marijuana in its regular session, it has not yet acted on several other outstanding items.   HB 2136 had been proceeding through the legislature to address these other concerns related to the implementation of I-502 and still appears to be the primary legislation to implement other needed changes for both recreational and medical marijuana regulation and taxation.  The bill’s provisions include:

· A tax exemption form sales and use tax for qualifying medical marijuana patients and designated providers;  
· The elimination of the 25 percent producer and processor taxes and increases the 25 percent retailer tax to 30 percent and specifies the taxes will be levied on the buyer (addressing concerns related to federal IRS rules);  
· Provision for the distribution of marijuana tax revenues to local jurisdictions at an annual cap of $12 million and a sunset of January 1, 2022.
· Changes to the allowable uses of marijuana tax revenues for the Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR).  
· Modifications to marijuana retailer signage requirements, allowing for one additional sign identifying the business or trade name.
· Revises the buffer distance provisions for the siting of a marijuana retail outlet.
· Clarifications to the definition of "public place" in provisions that prohibit the consumption of marijuana in a public place.
· Allowance for a marijuana business to use a common carrier to transport marijuana if the carrier is licensed by the LCB.  
· Allowance for the LCB to receive private funding to be utilized for materials to improve public awareness of the health risks associated with the use of marijuana; and,  
· Exemptions for cannabis health and beauty aids from all regulations in the Controlled Substances Act pertaining to marijuana, but only for products that meet specific definitions.

A significant element of the legislation alters how excise taxes would be collected and distributed.  Under the provisions of I-502 and 2ESSB 5052, each wholesale and retail marijuana sale is charged a 25 percent state excise tax. That tax is normally charged three times — on the sale from the grower to the processor, on the sale from the processor to the retailer, and on the retail sale to a consumer (an effective tax of about 36 percent total). Those taxes are added into the prices charged to the processors and to the retailers — and, ultimately, to the consumers.  According to testimony before the legislature and media reports, the trio of 25 percent taxes has increased the price of recreational marijuana in Washington, reportedly putting it at a competitive disadvantage with the illegal black market, where no taxes are charged. This legislation would eliminate the 25 percent taxes on the grower and processor sales, while bumping the retail tax from 25 percent to 30 percent.  This provision is intended to make legal marijuana more competitive, but also resolves a federal IRS tax exemption eligibility issue currently faced by the legal marijuana industry.

Another very significant change from current law would distribute part of the marijuana excise tax revenue to cities and counties, but only after $20 million in marijuana taxes reaches the state’s general fund in a single fiscal year. Then the state would retain 70 percent of tax revenues, but would distribute the remaining 30 percent of the year’s marijuana tax income to counties and cities whose businesses send marijuana taxes to the state. The distribution would be capped at $12 million, with any excess going directly to the state.  In the bill’s current version, eligible counties would get 60 percent of the distribution, and the cities would get 40 percent.

This legislation also would allow a county or city legislative authority to reduce the current state-required 1,000-foot buffer down to as little as 100 feet between a marijuana establishment and a recreation center, a child care center, a public park, and some other facilities. However, local governments would not be able to shrink the 1,000-foot buffer around schools and playgrounds.

Seattle and County Efforts to Align the Medical and Recreational Systems  The Mayor of Seattle has developed a plan for regulating all forms of marijuana in the city and is transmitting legislation to implement the plan.  The plan would mandate that all businesses licensed to produce, process or sell marijuana by the LCB will be required to obtain a proposed “Title 6 Marijuana Regulatory Business License.” Currently, 45 of approximately 99 medical marijuana dispensaries that operate in Seattle have obtained a Title 5 city business license.  The remaining estimated 54 dispensaries currently operate outside of regulation in the city. Under the proposed plan, those medical marijuana establishments that obtained their Title 5 city business license and established operations prior to January 1, 2013 will be able to continue operating without the new Title 6 regulatory business license until July 1, 2016. In order to remain open until July 1, 2016, medical marijuana establishments in the City of Seattle would have to comply with the Medical Use of Cannabis Act, city enforcement guidelines, and apply for and obtain a license from the LCB. According to the Mayor’s proposal, the new regulatory scheme will allow the city to follow state regulations more closely by granting a new regulatory license to both existing recreational businesses, along with medical dispensaries on the path to licensure. The city’s materials note that the proposal establishes a tiered enforcement plan that favors civil action over criminal prosecution (see Attachment 2). The enforcement plan prioritizes the prevention of sales to people under the age of 21 and non-qualifying patients, and bans marketing products that appeal to children. 

In unincorporated King County, the Sheriff’s Office has identified at least 13 medical marijuana dispensaries in the White Center and Skyway areas.  The Sheriff’s Office is currently identifying other dispensaries that may be operating in the county’s other unincorporated areas.  The county Prosecutor is working with the Sheriff to develop potential enforcement actions for those marijuana businesses that are operating without a state license and who do not plan to (or cannot) obtain an LCB license.  

ATTACHMENTS:

1. PowerPoint Presentation “2ESSB 5052 The Cannabis Patient Protection Act
Regulating Medical Marijuana,” June 9, 2015.
2. City of Seattle, Summary of Mayor’s Cannabis Related Legislative Proposals 
3. City of Seattle, Mayor’s Cannabis Related Legislative Proposals, Frequently Asked Questions
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