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SUBJECT

Briefing on the State Legislative Changes to Medical and Recreational Marijuana Laws.

SUMMARY

[bookmark: _GoBack]The Adoption of Initiative 692 (I-692) in 1998, established parameters for the possession and use of marijuana for medical purposes.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure. The legislature attempted to correct these issues in 2011, but a Governor’s veto created more problems rather than resolving those already identified.  In 2012, voters adopted Initiative 502 (I-502) which amended Washington's controlled substances statutes to allow adults, age 21 and over, to purchase, possess, and use small amounts of marijuana for recreational purposes.  It also established the means for regulating the production, processing, sales, and taxing of marijuana.  In its 2015 session, the legislature adopted 2ESSB 5052 which will require that the state’s medical marijuana producers, processors, and retail providers come under the state’s marijuana regulatory system managed by the Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB, prior to July 1, 2015 known as the Liquor Control Board).  In addition, the legislature adopted 2E2SHB 2136 which made significant changes to the state’s recreational marijuana regulations and established new methods for taxing marijuana.  This briefing will present a summary of the recently adopted legislation and marijuana related appropriations adopted in the state’s most recent budget. 

BACKGROUND

In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to decriminalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692[footnoteRef:1].  The initiative limited criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid documentation" from their physician or medical professional affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."  The initiative did not, however, “legalize” marijuana.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that were not adequately addressed in the original measure, or in subsequent legislation passed by the state[footnoteRef:2].  This is more fully described below. [1:  RCW Chapter 69.51A ]  [2:  ESSB 5073 passed by the state legislature in 2011.] 


On November 6, 2012, Washington voters approved Initiative 502 (I-502) with 55.7 percent of the vote; the measure passed by 63.5 percent in King County.  Initiative 502 changed state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older.  Marijuana, prior to the passage of I-502, had been a controlled substance and persons possessing even minor amounts of the drug could be subject to criminal charges, prison time, and subsequent criminal records.  While the cultivation, transport, sale, and possession of marijuana remain federal crimes, state officials have met with federal representatives to describe the state’s plans for implementing a “well-regulated” system that allows recreational use of the drug, while taking significant measures to limit its availability to youth, and to provide sources of funding for the prevention of abuse.  

I-502 Changes in Criminal Sanctions. Initiative 502 changes state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older, or for those licensed by the state (the initiative specifically states that these limited types of possession are “not a violation of Washington state law”).  The state Liquor Control Board (LCB) has established the legal amounts that licensed producers, processors, and retailers may possess based on their license.  The LCB has also established rules for the transport of marijuana from one licensee to another. 

It is still a violation of state law to possess, possess for sale, sell, or transport illegal, or unlicensed, amounts of marijuana or marijuana products.  It remains a violation of state law for anyone under 21 years of age to possess any amount of marijuana.  It is also unlawful under I-502 to open a package of marijuana or marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  Recently adopted legislation, described below, expanded this definition to include extending penalties to consuming marijuana “in a public place.”  The initiative also established new standards for marijuana-related driving under the influence laws.

In contrast to the state’s recreational marijuana limits, under the state’s medical marijuana statutes adopted with I-692, a person—even individuals under 21 years of age--with medical authorization, have an “affirmative defense” against prosecution (the measure did not provide for protection from arrest) if they possess 24 ounces of marijuana or up to 15 marijuana plants.  Further, up to ten patients can collectively grow 150 marijuana plants as part of a “collective garden.”  The initiative did not establish a state regulatory system for medical marijuana, or a registry of authorized patients or providers.  Of the 24 states and the District of Columbia with medical marijuana laws, only the State of Washington does not have some form of registry (22 states and the District of Columbia have mandatory registries and two states have voluntary registries).   The courts have ruled that collective gardens which are allowed under state law—even when constituted as medical marijuana dispensaries--can serve many more than ten patients, as long as the dispensary does not serve more than ten patients at any one time.  

I-502 Revenues and Excise Taxes In addition to the revenues from application and license fees collected by the LCB, I-502 levies a Marijuana Excise Tax equal to 25 percent of the selling price for producer sales to processors, 25 percent for processor sales to retailers, and 25 percent for retailer sales to individuals (this is an effective rate of 36.5 percent). General state and local sales and use taxes, and business and occupation taxes will also apply to the sale of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.  There were no state statutory or regulatory requirements for the payment of taxes for medical marijuana; however, some local jurisdictions allowed medical marijuana dispensaries to obtain business licenses and some dispensaries have collected, and transmitted to the state, local sales and use taxes on medical marijuana. 

Establishing Recreational Marijuana Regulations I-502 required that the LCB develop rules to license and regulate marijuana use for persons over the age of 21.   Under I-502, marijuana will be sold to consumers exclusively by privately owned and operated, licensed retail outlets who may sell only marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and related products for using and storing marijuana. Retailers may only sell marijuana produced by LCB licensed producers and processed by LCB licensed processors. Processors must purchase marijuana from licensed Washington producers, and retailers must purchase marijuana from Washington licensed producers and processors.  Section 5 of I-502 states that licensed producers and processors cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in a licensed retailer.  Therefore, a grower/producer licensee can also have a separate processing license, but cannot sell their product at the retail level.  The LCB adopted rules in October 2013 for licensing and products. 

I-502 required that each producer, processor, and retailer apply for a license and requires a separate application and license for every location.  The current LCB rules prohibit licenses within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, recreation center or facility, child care center, public park, public transit center, library, or a game arcade accessible by patrons under 21 years old.  The LCB leaves it to local jurisdictions to determine whether applicants meet existing local land use and zoning ordinances.  The rules also established requirements for packaging (to ensure that packaging was not appealing to children), product safety testing, and facility security.

Local Review of Applications  Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the LCB is required to provide notice of the application to the chief executive officer of the incorporated city or town, or “to the county legislative authority, if the application is for a license within that jurisdiction.” The official or employee designated by the city, town, or county has the right to file with the LCB a written objection against the applicant and may request an administrative hearing within 20 days for applications and 30 days in the case of objections to renewals.  In November 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17693 which has the county review of marijuana related license applications follow the same process as the county’s review of liquor license applications.  
While King County adopted land use regulations for recreational marijuana businesses, several communities and jurisdictions across Washington, and in King County, have enacted local bans or moratoriums. In a formal Attorney General Opinion issued January 16, 2014, the Attorney General’s Office concluded that “I-502 left in place the normal powers of local governments to regulate within their jurisdictions” and that “…nothing in I-502 limits that authority with respect to licensed marijuana businesses.” As a result, local jurisdictions can ban or severally limit marijuana businesses in their jurisdictions.  
In an advisory letter from the LCB, the board noted that “while the law (I-502) is silent on the issue of local bans, there is also nothing with the law which allows for the board to deny licenses to qualified applicants. If an applicant meets the state’s criteria for licensure, the board will issue a state license. Like any other type of business, a licensee must be in compliance with local laws and regulations.”  Therefore, businesses may receive licenses but be unable operate in these jurisdictions.  The LCB has advised jurisdictions that the LCB will not reallocate retail licenses in jurisdictions which have local bans to adjacent jurisdictions that have no bans or moratoria.
Many jurisdictions have taken some form of legislative action related to medical marijuana businesses.  In December 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17726. This ordinance established a one-year moratorium prohibiting the location, establishment or expansion of any medical marijuana collective garden or medical marijuana dispensary authorized under RCW 69.51A in unincorporated King County, whether for profit or not-for-profit.  The Council extended this moratorium in December 2014 for six months with adoption of Ordinance 17940 through June 2015.  The Council recently adopted Ordinance 18059, which will extend the moratorium for another six months through December 2015.
Under the provisions of the moratorium, the county will not issue a building permit, occupancy permit, public health approval or development permit or approval of any kind for a "medical marijuana collective garden” or a "medical marijuana dispensary.”  Furthermore, the ordinance nullifies any land use approvals or other permits for any of these operations that are issued as a result of error or by use of vague or deceptive descriptions during the moratorium. 

Medical Marijuana Had Not Conformed to the Recreational Regulatory System  As noted above, I-502 was not the state’s first measure related to the use of marijuana.  In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure.  

In 2011, the legislature adopted ESSB 5073 that would have addressed these concerns by developing a framework for regulating medical marijuana dispensaries and establishing a statewide registry of patients with valid authorizations.  The Governor choose to veto significant portions of the legislation, primarily those elements that would have regulated the sellers and users, while leaving intact several elements of the bill that ultimately became law.  One of these elements has been interpreted by the courts to allow the establishment of “collective gardens” that now act as unregulated marijuana dispensaries.  Further, while the law establishes the rights of those with authorization to use medical marijuana, the mechanisms that would have allowed law enforcement to validate authorizations were also vetoed.  I-502 made no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Consequently, there were still several areas of concern related to the medical marijuana “industry” that remain unresolved and have not be resolved through the implementation of I-502.  As a result, changes were needed to make the medical marijuana system “well regulated” to ensure that the federal government does not intervene.  The legislature took no action to address medical marijuana in its 2014 session, however, action was taken in 2015.

2ESSB 5052--The Cannabis Patient Protection Act  

On April 24, 2015, the Governor signed ESSB 5052, the Cannabis Patient Protection Act, legislation intended to regulate the medical marijuana system.  The legislation will require that state (the Department of Health working with the Liquor Control Board—which became the Liquor and Cannabis Board on July 1, 2015) establish a series of standards for medical marijuana, licensing for the production, processing, and retail sale of medical marijuana; along with developing systems for the voluntary registration of patients.  

Unlike the provisions of I-502, as a result of the changes enacted in ESSB 5052, the state will allow those under 21 years of age to be identified as qualifying patients and possess and use marijuana.  Health care providers will be responsible for determining if a patient qualifies, determine the amounts of marijuana needed by the patient, and will be able to issue an “authorization” form to the patient.  Under the provisions of the legislation, the Department of Health is required to establish a variety of standards for health care providers to authorize marijuana for patients and would establish a database for qualifying patients or designated providers (providers are adult caregivers allowed to obtain medical marijuana for those under 21 years of age).  While health care providers would issue authorizations for medical marijuana, marijuana retailers with medical endorsements would be responsible for entering the authorization data into a state registry and issuing a “recognition” card.  With registration, an authorized user can obtain medical marijuana products, possess marijuana if they are under 21 years of age, grow marijuana, and legally possess amounts of marijuana larger than that of recreational users.  In addition, the new law gives authorized patients the ability to grow marijuana in their own domiciles, the new statute allows up to four qualifying patients to establish growing cooperatives which must be registered with the LCB (that specifically cannot sell or trade marijuana products or be within one mile of a retailer with a medical endorsement).

The legislation establishes the legal amount of marijuana a “qualifying patient” may possess that differs from I-502 amounts.  The following table compares the legal amounts.

Legal Amounts of Marijuana
Recreational and Medical
	I-502-Recreational
	2ESSB 5052-Medical

	· 1 oz. of useable marijuana (28.35 grams)
	· 3 oz. of useable marijuana

	· 16 oz. of marijuana-infused product in a solid form
	· 48 oz. of marijuana-infused product in a solid form

	· 7 grams of marijuana concentrates
	· 21 grams of marijuana concentrates 

	· 72 oz. of marijuana-infused products in liquid form
	· 216 oz. of marijuana-infused products in liquid form

	· No home grow
	· Grow six plants in domicile

	
	· Participate in cooperative noncommercial grows

	
	· Patients can be authorized to have larger amounts based on health care authorization



The legislation also requires that the LCB establish a system of regulations for the production, processing, and retail sale of medical marijuana for patient’s use.  The LCB is required to work with the Department of Health to establish criteria for medical products (THC and cannabinoid levels).  The new regulations would also include a retail license with a “medical marijuana endorsement” where the retailer would meet special requirements for meeting the needs of medical marijuana users.  

The legislature has established that prior recreational license applicants, along with operators of medical marijuana “collective gardens” and “dispensaries” operating before the voter approval of I-502 on November 6, 2012, would have a priority in obtaining licenses with this endorsement.  The law would require that the LCB increase the maximum number of marijuana retail outlets and accept applications from new applicants, if necessary, to accommodate the medical needs of qualifying patients and designated providers.  Nevertheless, these establishments would have to meet all of the same regulatory standards for recreational stores. 

The legislation will eliminate the current provisions for commercial “collective gardens” starting July 1, 2016—and as a result, medical marijuana dispensaries will no longer be legal.  As a consequence, the “unregulated” medical marijuana dispensaries may continue to operate under existing strictures through the July 1, 2016 date.  The legislation leaves in place the legal protections for these collective gardens until July 2016 and afterwards allows noncommercial collective gardens (with no more than ten qualified patients with recognition cards and no more than 45 plants). The legislation is silent on the responsibility for enforcing these provisions.

The bill has several other provisions including the requirement to establish standards for medical marijuana use and to establish standards “medical marijuana consultants.”  It allows the LCB to conduct “controlled purchases” to determine if retailers are illegally selling products to underage individuals.

According to the LCB, the board currently has nine different teams working to develop how the transition will work but the main criteria for new licenses will be that a dispensary is paid up on its taxes and started business before legalization in 2013.

2E2SHB 2136—Comprehensive Marijuana Market Reform Legislation 

With the adoption of 2E2SHB 2136, the state also is making a variety of changes to the state’s existing recreational marijuana laws.  The legislation changes marijuana tax structure, regulatory requirements, changes criminal penalties, and changes the allocation of marijuana related revenues established in the original I-502 initiative.

Marijuana Excise Tax Changes This legislation significantly changes the I-502 tax structure and eliminates the 25 percent producer and processor excise taxes, while increasing the 25 percent retailer excise tax to 37 percent.  The excise taxes will apply to all recreational and medical marijuana and marijuana products. The original excise tax of 25 percent had been added into the prices charged at each stage of production, processing, and retail sale — and, ultimately, to consumers. The change to the I-502 excise tax structure is intended to address a significant concern identified by licensees who noted that this structure created issues with federal tax rules—primarily where licensees were required to show the collection of the state taxes as income and were not allowed to deduct the taxes; thus significantly increasing the licensees’ tax burden.  

The new structure keeps in place the actual effective tax rate of 37 percent for the state, but has it paid by the buyer and passed on to the state by the retailer—thereby reducing producer, processor, and retailer federal tax liability.   Retailers are required to separately itemize the price of the marijuana product and the 37 percent tax for buyers.  In addition, retailers are required to collect state and local use and sales taxes.  The legislation requires that the price and taxes each be shown separately as part of the buyer’s receipt.  The legislation also clarifies the tax treatment of “bundled transactions” (where marijuana is sold with other products in a “bundle”) at licensed marijuana retail stores and prohibits conditional sales by any marijuana business.  Finally, the legislation established a series of processes for the collection of the taxes into the Dedicated Marijuana Account and specifies that the Dedicated Marijuana Account is subject to appropriation.

In addition to changing the taxes for marijuana buyers, the legislation also includes a sales and use tax exemption for qualifying medical marijuana patients and designated providers who possess recognition cards.  As a result, medical marijuana users will pay the 37 percent excise tax for marijuana products, but not pay any state or local sales tax.

Regulatory Changes This legislation also made a series of changes to the marijuana regulatory requirements originally established in I-502.  The most significant change will allow local jurisdictions to reduce the buffer distance provisions for the siting of marijuana licensees from 1,000 feet to 100 feet except for schools and playgrounds (the 1,000 foot buffer is otherwise applied to recreation centers or facilities, child care centers, public parks, public transit centers, libraries, or game arcades accessible by patrons under 21 years old).   In order to reduce the buffer requirement, a county, city, or town must pass an ordinance declaring that the reduction will not negatively impact the jurisdiction's law enforcement efforts, public safety, or public health. Under the new law, the LCB may license businesses located in compliance with such an ordinance. The new statute also subjects medical marijuana cooperatives to buffer distances similar to marijuana licensees.  

The adopted legislation now requires that applicants for any license must “conspicuously” display a sign (to be developed by the LCB) outside the premises to be licensed, notifying the public of the proposed use and require written notice to certain nearby entities within 1,000 feet of the premises at the time of the application.  The notice must be posted within seven days of the application.   The legislation also permits local jurisdictions establish that applicants must notify certain entities up to 60 days prior to issuance of a license with notice that the entities may contact the LCB about the application.  

In addition, the legislation establishes new licenses and requires that the LCB create new licensure rules and processes for the new licenses.  The legislation authorizes a new marijuana research license; while also authorizing public universities to conduct marijuana-related research and work with federally recognized tribes on marijuana research.  Furthermore, the law creates a new marijuana transportation license for common carriers.  This new license will allow a marijuana business to use a common carrier to transport marijuana if the carrier is licensed by the LCB and the law specifies that the carrier may only transport marijuana between licensed marijuana businesses.  

The new legislation prohibits the consumption of marijuana in a "public place,” using established statutory definitions of public place.  Under I-502, individuals were prohibited from opening a package of marijuana, including medical marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  The legislation also prohibits the operation of a “marijuana club” for the purposes of using, keeping or storing marijuana and imposes a felony penalty for violations. Furthermore, the legislation modifies the residency requirement to apply for a marijuana license from three months to six months.  Finally, the legislation makes other changes that include modifications to marijuana retailer signage requirements, allowing for one additional sign identifying the business or trade name.  

Criminal Penalties Changes The new legislation eliminates any criminal penalties for the possession, use, and sale of cannabis-based beauty products and other therapeutic products with THC concentration of less than 0.3 percent.  The legislation adds a Class 3 civil infraction for consumption of marijuana in a public place (punishable by a $50 fine).  The legislation makes it a Class C Felony to operate a marijuana club. The most significant change to marijuana penalties is the addition of synthetic cannabinoids (known as “spice” or “bath salts”) to the list of controlled substances, where a violation is punishable as a felony.  The legislation also added the ability for local courts to impose fines of $10,000 to $500,000, in addition to existing criminal and civil penalties, for anyone convicted of manufacturing, selling, or distributing synthetic cannabinoids.

Distribution of Marijuana Tax Revenues 2E2SHB 6136 also makes changes to the marijuana tax revenue distribution originally approved in I-502.  The original distribution allocated the expected tax revenues to a variety of regulatory, research, education, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs, with the remainder of revenues for use in the General Fund.  In addition, the initiative required that 50 percent of the revenues go towards the state’s Basic Health Care Account.  The distribution did not, however, include any funds for local jurisdictions.  2E2SHB 6136 maintained the basic allocation as contained in I-502, with distributions to the Liquor and Cannabis Board; the Departments of Social and Human Services and Health; the University of Washington and Washington State University; the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction; and, the Health Care Authority, with allocations that are generally less than the allocations originally approved by voters.  The legislature did allocate new funding to State Building Code Council for establishing standards for marijuana processing and extraction.

While some of the allocations are less than the amounts designated in the original initiative, the legislature has added a new designation requiring the distribution of part of the marijuana excise tax revenue to cities and counties, but only after a certain level of revenues are received.  Starting in fiscal year 2018, distributions to local jurisdictions will not occur until $25 million of marijuana tax revenues have been deposited into the State General Fund, at which point 30 percent of the previous fiscal year's General Fund revenues will be distributed to eligible counties and cities in four installments. Thirty percent of the local distribution is disbursed to counties, cities, and towns to be allocated as a portion of state marijuana revenue based on the amount of marijuana excise tax revenues attributable to any licensed retail store within the local jurisdiction. The remaining 70 percent is disbursed based on population with counties receiving 60 percent of this allocation and cities and towns sharing the remaining 40 percent.   Nevertheless, local jurisdiction distributions are limited to $15 million per fiscal year for the 2018-2019 biennium and $20 million per fiscal year thereafter.  

For Fiscal Years 2016 and 2017, the legislation established that $6 million is to be appropriated in each year (for a total of $12 million for the biennium) for distribution to local governments for “marijuana enforcement.”  Of the total appropriated, 60 percent is intended to be distributed only to counties that have not banned marijuana production, processing, or retail sales.  The remaining 40 percent is to be allocated to cities that have not banned marijuana enterprises.  The allocations for counties and cities are based on the percentage of retail sales in each jurisdiction.  

The 2016-17 Budget (ESSB 6052) contains the following marijuana-related appropriations, from the Dedicated Marijuana Account (DMA) and from other sources.

Marijuana-Related 2016-2017 Appropriations

Note: The 2016 allocations for DSHS GF-Fed Fund and DOH Health Professions Account are one-time appropriations.  The Treasurer DMA transfers include $6,000,000 for local jurisdictions and the remaining $15,269,000 to the state’s GF.  The 2017 transfers for the local jurisdictions and to the GF will be made in a future supplemental.

A more detailed description of the 2016-2017 budget appropriations is attached.

In its June 2015 economic forecast, the state’s Economic and Revenue Forecast Council estimates the state will reap $374 million in marijuana taxes in the 2015-17 budget cycle and about $695 million in the 2017-19 budget years. This projection is significantly higher than the state’s earlier February estimates when the council estimated $190 million in marijuana-related revenue over the next four years.  

The LCB currently reports that marijuana sales are averaging $1.4 million a day across the state at 161 licensed retail stores that are reporting sales (there are currently 171 retail licensees, with 33 applications pending).  The state budget assumes a minimum of $60.3 million in revenue for the 2015 Fiscal Year, however, estimates show that revenue may top $70 million.  The level of revenue from the expansion of retailers required to implement 2ESSB 5052 is not known at this time—however, LCB representatives have noted that the allowable number of retail licenses in the state could grow from 334 to 450 in the next year.  This assessment will change as the LCB develops its estimates for the number of licensees with medical endorsements that can be established statewide.  The LCB has already taken action this spring to increase the amounts of recreational marijuana production and will have to further increase production licenses once medical marijuana standards are established.

Seattle and County Efforts to Align/Enforce Legislative Changes  

The Mayor of Seattle has developed a plan for regulating all forms of marijuana in the city and is transmitting legislation to the City Council to implement the plan.  The plan would mandate that all businesses licensed to produce, process or sell marijuana by the LCB will be required to obtain a proposed “Title 6 Marijuana Regulatory Business License.” Currently, 45 of approximately 99 medical marijuana dispensaries that operate in Seattle have obtained a Title 5 city business license.  The remaining estimated 54 dispensaries currently operate outside of regulation in the city. Under the proposed plan, those medical marijuana establishments that obtained their Title 5 city business license and established operations prior to January 1, 2013 will be able to continue operating without the new Title 6 regulatory business license until July 1, 2016. In order to remain open until July 1, 2016, medical marijuana establishments in the City of Seattle would have to comply with the Medical Use of Cannabis Act, city enforcement guidelines, and apply for and obtain a license from the LCB. According to the Mayor’s proposal, the new regulatory scheme will allow the city to follow state regulations more closely by granting a new regulatory license to both existing recreational businesses, along with medical dispensaries on the path to licensure. The city’s materials note that the proposal establishes a tiered enforcement plan that favors civil action over criminal prosecution (see Attachment 2). The enforcement plan prioritizes the prevention of sales to people under the age of 21 and non-qualifying patients, and bans marketing products that appeal to children. 

In unincorporated King County, the Sheriff’s Office has identified at least 15 medical marijuana dispensaries in the White Center, Skyway, and other unincorporated areas of the county.  On July 8, 2015, the King County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office and Sheriff, notified these dispensaries in the unincorporated areas that marijuana retail operations operating outside of the state licensing system are not legal and that operators of such stores are subject to civil and/or criminal sanctions.  The notification stated that illegal marijuana, marijuana products, and property used in the unlawful sale of marijuana is subject to civil forfeiture.  The notice also stated that the adverse consequences of unlicensed retail marijuana sales extend not just to dispensary operators, but also to landlords, lenders, and investors who are aware of the illegal nature of the business, whether or not they are directly involved in its operation.  The letter sent to each dispensary is meant to serve as notice to the operators, landlords, lenders and investors that the county believes the notified business is an unlicensed marijuana retailer and, consequently, is operating illegally.  The letter concludes with the statement that “If you continue to sell marijuana or products containing marijuana derivatives, without a valid license from the LCB, you are exposing yourself, and your property, to potential civil forfeiture and criminal liability.”  The Prosecuting Attorney and Sheriff will brief the committee on these actions at the committee’s July 28th meeting.

ATTACHMENTS:

1. PowerPoint Presentation “2ESSB 5052 The Cannabis Patient Protection Act &
2ESSB 2136 Comprehensive Marijuana Market Reforms--New State Marijuana Legislation,” July 14, 2015.
2. City of Seattle, Summary of Mayor’s Cannabis Related Legislative Proposals 
3. City of Seattle, Mayor’s Cannabis Related Legislative Proposals, Frequently Asked Questions
4. ESSB 6052—State Budget Marijuana Related Appropriations 
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Sheet1

		ESSB 6052 Marijuana-Related Appropriations

		Agency		FY16		FY17		Restriction/Provisos

		LCB (Dedicated Marijuana Account-DMA)		$   7,367,000		$   7,821,000		$2,183,000 (16) & $2,818,000 (17) are for implementation of 2136 & 5052

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (DMA)		10,736,000		24,802,000		A. $200,000 (16) 7 $200,000 (17) WSIPP studies; B. $500,000 (16) & $500,000 (17) Youth Survey; C. $395,000 (16) & $396,000 (17) Parent Child Assistance Program; D. $250,000 (16) & $250,000 (17) life skills training for high needs youth; E. $386,000 (16) & $386,000 (17) P&T services for tribal youth; F. $683,000 (16) & $2,684,000 (17) residential treatment for youth; G. $250,000 (16) & $250,000 (17) training and technical assistance for  evidenced-based & promising prevention substance abuse programs; H. $1,000,000 (16) & $2,434,000 (17) Home Visiting Services Acct transfer; I. $3,278,000 (17) JRA substance abuse treatment for juvenile offenders; J. $1,130,000 (17) substance abuse treatment for locally-committed juvenile offenders; K. $282,000 (17) for evidence based treatments and therapies; L. $2,500,000 (16) & $2,500,000 (17) grants for community based programs that provide prevention including school resource officers.

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (GF-Fed Fund)		3,750,000				A. $1,900,000 youth residential treatment beds; B. $1,110,000 UW marijuana studies; C. $740,000 WSU marijuana studies 

		Health Care Authority (DMA)		5,351,000		12,520,000		DMa supplantation of funds for GF share of community health care centers & medical assistance clients

		DOH (DMA)		7,500,000		7,500,000		A. $7,250,000 (16) & $7,250,000 (17) MJ education and tobacco public health and prevention for youth; B. $250,000 (16) & $250,000 (17) for the Wa. Poison Control Center to mainatin accreditation.

		DOH (Health Professions Acct)		4,015,000				For implementation of 5052

		OSPI (DMA)		251,000		511,000		No restriction-2136 requires funding for Bridges Program

		University of Washington (DMA)		227,000		227,000		No restriction-2136 requires funding for MJ research

		Washington State University (DMA)		138,000		138,000		No restriction-2136 requires funding for MJ research

		State Treasurer--Transfers (DMA)		21,269,000				A. $6,000,000 (15) Transfer to local jurisdictions per 2136; B. $15,269,000 (15) Transfer to GF

		FY16 & FY17 Total		$   60,604,000		$   53,519,000



		FY14 & FY15 Adjustments		FY14		FY15

		Liquor and Cannabis Board (DMA)		$   3,136,000		$   4,214,000

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (DMA)				5,166,000		DMA supplantation for GF

		Health Care Authority (DMA)				2,271,000		DMA supplantation for GF

		FY14 & FY15 Total		$   3,136,000		$   11,651,000



		Total Marijuana Appropriations-ESSB6052

		All Dedicated Marijuana Account Appropriations		$   121,145,000

		All other funds		$   7,765,000

		Total		$   128,910,000







Sheet2

		Agency		FY16		FY17		Total		%

		LCB (Dedicated Marijuana Account-DMA)		$   7,367,000		$   7,821,000		$   15,188,000		13.3%

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (DMA)		10,736,000		24,802,000		35,538,000		31.1%

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (GF-Fed Fund)		3,750,000		- 0		3,750,000		3.3%

		Health Care Authority (DMA)		5,351,000		12,520,000		17,871,000		15.7%

		DOH (DMA)		7,500,000		7,500,000		15,000,000		13.1%

		DOH (Health Professions Acct)		4,015,000		- 0		4,015,000		3.5%

		OSPI (DMA)		251,000		511,000		762,000		0.7%

		University of Washington (DMA)		227,000		227,000		454,000		0.4%

		Washington State University (DMA)		138,000		138,000		276,000		0.2%

		State Treasurer--Transfers (DMA)		21,269,000		- 0		21,269,000		18.6%

		FY16 & FY17 Total		$   60,604,000		$   53,519,000		$   114,123,000		100.0%

		Agency		Total

		LCB (Dedicated Marijuana Account-DMA)		$   15,188,000

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (DMA)		$   35,538,000

		DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (GF-Fed Fund)		$   3,750,000

		Health Care Authority (DMA)		$   17,871,000

		DOH (DMA)		$   15,000,000

		DOH (Health Professions Acct)		$   4,015,000

		OSPI (DMA)		$   762,000

		University of Washington (DMA)		$   454,000

		Washington State University (DMA)		$   276,000

		State Treasurer--Transfers (DMA)		$   21,269,000

		FY16 & FY17 Total		$   114,123,000
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Agency FY16 FY17 Total %

LCB (Dedicated Marijuana Account-DMA) 7,367,000 $         7,821,000 $     15,188,000 $      13.3%

DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (DMA) 10,736,000          24,802,000      35,538,000         31.1%

DSHS-Alcohol & Substance Abuse (GF-Fed Fund) 3,750,000            -                   3,750,000           3.3%

Health Care Authority (DMA) 5,351,000            12,520,000      17,871,000         15.7%

DOH (DMA) 7,500,000            7,500,000        15,000,000         13.1%

DOH (Health Professions Acct) 4,015,000            -                   4,015,000           3.5%

OSPI (DMA) 251,000               511,000           762,000              0.7%

University of Washington (DMA) 227,000               227,000           454,000              0.4%

Washington State University (DMA) 138,000               138,000           276,000              0.2%

State Treasurer--Transfers (DMA) 21,269,000          -                   21,269,000         18.6%

FY16 & FY17 Total 60,604,000 $      53,519,000 $  114,123,000 $    100.0%


