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SUBJECT

A Review of the Status of the Implementation of I-502’s Recreational Marijuana Regulations and the State Legislature’s Actions to Related to Marijuana in the Most Recent Session

SUMMARY

Initiative 502 (I-502) amends Washington's controlled substances statutes to allow adults, age 21 and over, to purchase, possess, and use small amounts of marijuana.  It also establishes the means for regulating the production, processing, sales, and taxing of marijuana.  The Initiative includes three main components that removes state criminal penalties on specific amounts of marijuana; establishes the requirement that the state’s Liquor Control Board develop a system to license and regulate marijuana producers, processors, retailers, and possession for persons over the age of 21; and, taxes marijuana sales at the state and local level; dedicating a percentage of the tax revenue for substance-abuse prevention, research, education, and healthcare.  This briefing will present the current status of implementing the new regulatory system.

I-502 made no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  The state legislature had considered legislation that would have amended existing medical marijuana statutes to have them conform to the rules and regulations promulgated for the state’s recreational marijuana system.  However, the legislature did not enact new regulations for the state’s medical marijuana system.  This briefing includes the status of the primary pieces of legislation that were under consideration, which pieces of marijuana-related legislation passed, and a those issues that remain unresolved

BACKGROUND

On November 6, 2012, Washington voters approved Initiative 502 (I-502) with 55.7 percent of the vote; the measure passed by 63.5 percent in King County.  Marijuana, prior to the passage of I-502, had been a controlled substance and persons possessing even minor amounts of the drug could be subject to criminal charges, prison time, and subsequent criminal records.  

While the cultivation, transport, sale, and possession of marijuana remain federal crimes, state officials have met with federal representatives to describe the state’s plans for implementing a “well-regulated” system that allows recreational use of the drug, while taking significant measures to limit its availability to youth, and to provide sources of funding for the prevention of abuse.  

On August 29, 2013, the federal Department of Justice (DOJ) issued a Memorandum for United States Attorneys with “Guidance Regarding Marijuana Enforcement” (attached). In the memorandum, the DOJ noted that congress has identified “marijuana as a dangerous drug.” However, the guidance letter noted that jurisdictions that have enacted laws legalizing marijuana in some form and have also implemented strong and effective regulatory and enforcement systems—defined as those that keep marijuana away from minors, prevents driving under the influence, and prevents the transportation of marijuana to other jurisdictions--will not be a priority for federal drug enforcement actions.  Nevertheless, the memorandum also states that if the jurisdiction’s regulatory efforts are insufficient, then the federal government could take action against the jurisdiction, in addition to bringing individual enforcement actions. 

I-502 Changes in Criminal Sanctions. Initiative 502 changes state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older, or for those licensed by the state (the initiative specifically states that these limited types of possession are “not a violation of Washington state law”).  The amounts of marijuana that will be legal for an individual to purchase/possess under I-502 are: 

	(1) one ounce of useable marijuana (28.35 grams); 
	(2) 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in a solid form; 
(3) 7 grams of marijuana concentrates (new, added by ESHB 2304); or 
	(4) 72 ounces of marijuana-infused products in liquid form.  

The state Liquor Control Board (LCB) is establishing the legal amounts that licensed producers, processors, and retailers may possess based on their license.  The LCB has also established rules for the transport of marijuana from one licensee to another. The initiative did not specifically address limits on marijuana concentrates, also known as “hash oil.”  

It is still a violation of state law to possess, possess for sale, sell, or transport illegal, or unlicensed, amounts of marijuana or marijuana products.  It remains a violation of state law for anyone under 21 years of age to possess any amount of marijuana.  It is also unlawful under I-502 to open a package of marijuana or marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  

Nevertheless, under the state’s medical marijuana statutes, a person—even those less than 21 years of age--with medical authorization, may possess 24 ounces of marijuana or up to 15 marijuana plants.  Further, up to ten patients can collectively grow 150 marijuana plants as part of a “collective garden.”  There currently is no state regulatory system for medical marijuana, or a registry of authorized patients or providers.  Of the 20 states and the District of Columbia with medical marijuana laws, only the State of Washington does not have some form of registry (18 states and the District of Columbia have mandatory registries and two states have voluntary registries).   The courts have ruled that collective gardens which are allowed under state law—even when constituted as medical marijuana dispensaries--can serve many more than ten patients, as long as the dispensary does not serve more than ten patients at any one time.  Under current medical marijuana statutes, patients, providers, and suppliers have an “affirmative defense” to protect them if arrested and prosecuted for possession of marijuana.

I-502 Revenues and Taxes  In addition to the revenues from application and license fees collected by the LCB, I-502 levies a new Marijuana Excise Tax equal to 25 percent of the selling price for producer sales to processors, 25 percent for processor sales to retailers, and 25 percent for retailer sales to individuals. The marijuana excise tax will be administered by the LCB.  General state and local sales and use taxes, and business and occupation taxes will also apply to the sale of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.  In its February economic forecast, the state’s Economic and Revenue Forecast Council showed that $51 million in revenue is expected for the 2015-2017 biennium from marijuana production and sales. An additional $138.5 million is expected for the next two-year budget that ends mid-2019. A little under half of that revenue is expected from excise tax and license fees related to the marijuana market, and the rest is expected to come from retail sales tax and business taxes.  The council estimates almost $190 million in marijuana related revenue over the next four years.  The initiative allocates the funding to a variety of state sources, including 50 percent of the excise tax revenues to the state’s Basic Health Plan, which no longer exists.  The legislature will have to take action to reallocate these revenues.

Establishing Regulations for Licensing Producers, Processors, and Retailers Initiative 502 authorizes the Washington State Liquor Control Board (LCB) to license and regulate marijuana use for persons over the age of 21.   Under I-502, marijuana would be sold to consumers exclusively by privately owned and operated, licensed retail outlets who may sell only marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and related products for using and storing marijuana. Retailers may only sell marijuana produced by LCB licensed producers and processed by LCB licensed processors. Processors must purchase marijuana from licensed Washington producers, and retailers must purchase marijuana from Washington licensed producers and processors.  Section 5 of I-502 states that licensed producers and processors cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in a licensed retailer.  Therefore, a grower/producer licensee can also have a separate processing license, but cannot sell their product at the retail level.  

The LCB adopted rules in October 2013 that established procedures and criteria necessary to: 

1. License marijuana producers, processors and retailers, including prescribing forms and establishing application, reinstatement, and renewal fees; 
2. Developed security, documentation, and other requirements for licensees, including restrictions on advertising and packaging; and 
3. Determined the maximum amount of marijuana that could be produced and the number of retail outlets that may be licensed in each county. 

I-502 requires that each producer, processor, and retailer apply for a license and requires a separate application and license for every location.  The measure sets a $250 application fee for each type of license and an annual $1,000 fee for issuance and renewal of the licenses.  Licenses can only be issued to individuals (or groups where all members meet state requirements) that are over 21 years old and have legally resided in Washington for three months prior to applying.  The manager/operators for each license must also meet all of the state requirements of age, residency and criminal history.  

The rules prohibit licenses within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, recreation center or facility, child care center, public park, public transit center, library, or a game arcade accessible by patrons under 21 years old.  In discussions with LCB officials, it appears that the LCB will let local jurisdictions determine whether applicants meet existing local land use and zoning ordinances, but noted that the board will determine whether licensees meet the 1,000 foot buffer limits.  

Producer/Processor License Applications  The LCB choose to review applications for producers and processors first in order to initiate the supply of licensed marijuana and marijuana products. Initially, the LCB set no statewide limits on the total number of potential producer licensees, but established a statewide limit on the total “plant canopy” that could be grown by producers at two million square feet or 46 acres.  The LCB closed a 30-day application window for marijuana licenses on December 20, 2013. During the application period, the LCB received 2,858 marijuana producer applications statewide. For King County, there were 420 producer and 389 processor license applications.

According to the LCB, the plant canopy of that would be produced with the number of license applications far exceeds the plant canopy limit set by the board in its rules. Further, of these applications, over 900 are for more than one marijuana producer application. The rules currently allow for up to three licenses per licensee.  The LCB noted that if all of the applications they had received had been granted licenses, the total amount of square feet marijuana production would significantly exceed its limit of two million square feet. 

As a result, the LCB in an effort to establish a manageable plant canopy for marijuana production, filed an interim policy that limits any qualified entity to one marijuana producer license and reduces the amount of marijuana allowed to be grown by 30 percent for each license (for example, if an applicant applied to be a Tier 2 grower at 10,000 square feet, they will be limited to 7,000 square feet). The LCB noted that if any entity or principal has more than one marijuana application pending, staff will contact the applicant and offer them the option of withdrawing their additional applications for a refund or having their additional applications held up to one year or until the board determines more marijuana producer licenses are needed.  The first producer license was issued by the LCB on March 5, 2014.  As of April 2, 2014, the LCB has issued nine licenses.

Retail License Applications The LCB has limited the total number of retail licenses statewide to 334; with 61 licenses allocated to King County (the list of the state’s allocation of retail licenses is attached).  By the end of the application period, the board had received 2,181 retail license applications statewide; with 732 applications in King County.  The LCB has notified applicants for retail licenses that, for any jurisdiction where there are more viable applicants than allocated licenses, the LCB will conduct a lottery to assign the licenses.  On April 2, 2014, LCB notified applicants that it had contracted with the Social and Economic Sciences Research Center of Washington State University and the accounting firm for Washington’s Lottery, Kraght-Snell of Seattle, to independently produce rank-ordered lists of applicants in each jurisdiction where a lottery is necessary. 

The LCB began pre-qualifying applicants for the lottery in February 2014. Applicants had 30 days to return the basic documents necessary to be eligible for the lottery including verification of: their personal criminal history, their age being 21 or older, that they are Washington State residents, that their business was formed in Washington State, and that they have a location address with a right to real property. A letter of intent to lease space was acceptable to be eligible for the lottery. Board licensing staff has been reviewing pre-qualifying packets. According to the LCB, the initial estimates of returned packets show that despite repeated notices and reminders to applicants, roughly 25 percent of the original applicants did not return the required documents to the board. Of the returned packets, the board has found that anywhere between 20-50 percent are incomplete, thus disqualifying them from the retail lottery.  The LCB is expected to post the ordered list of applicants for each jurisdiction on May 2, 2014. However, the board notes that, even with a successful placement in the lottery, the applicants will still have to meet the multiple requirements for licensure such as passing a criminal history check and financial investigation as well as have a location that is not within 1,000 feet of a school, park or other area specified by Initiative 502 as places where children congregate. 

Finally, the board has noted that it will issue licenses to applicants even in jurisdictions that have a moratorium, have prohibited marijuana businesses, or where the local jurisdiction has a land use prohibition for the particular licensee address.  The board intends to complete its review efforts shortly and that retail licenses are expected to be issued no later than the first week of July 2014.

Local Review of Applications  Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the LCB is required to provide notice of the application to the chief executive officer of the incorporated city or town, or “to the county legislative authority, if the application is for a license within that jurisdiction.” The official or employee designated by the city, town, or county has the right to file with the LCB a written objection against the applicant and may request an administrative hearing within 20 days for applications and 30 days in the case of objections to renewals.  In November 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17693 which will have the county review of marijuana related license applications follow the same process as the county’s review of liquor license applications.  To date, the county has reviewed over 40 processor and producer license applications for review.
While King County adopted land use regulations for recreational marijuana businesses, several communities and jurisdictions across Washington, and in King County, have enacted local bans or moratoriums. In a formal Attorney General Opinion issued January 16, 2014, the Attorney General’s Office concluded that “I-502 left in place the normal powers of local governments to regulate within their jurisdictions” and that “…nothing in I-502 limits that authority with respect to licensed marijuana businesses.” As a result, it appears that local jurisdictions can ban marijuana businesses in their jurisdictions.  
In an advisory letter from the LCB, the board noted that “while the law (I-502) is silent on the issue of local bans, there is also nothing with the law which allows for the board to deny licenses to qualified applicants. If an applicant meets the state’s criteria for licensure, the board will issue a state license. Like any other type of business, a licensee must be in compliance with local laws and regulations.”  Therefore, businesses may receive licenses but be unable operate in these jurisdictions.  The LCB has advised jurisdictions that the LCB will not reallocate retail licenses in jurisdictions which have local bans to adjacent jurisdictions that have no bans or moratoria.
Medical Marijuana Does Not Conform to the Recreational Regulatory System  I-502 was not the state’s first measure related to the use of marijuana.  In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  The initiative limited criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid documentation" from their physician or medical professional affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure.  

In 2011, the legislature adopted ESSB 5073 that would have addressed these concerns by developing a framework for regulating medical marijuana dispensaries and establishing a statewide registry of patients with valid authorizations.  The Governor choose to veto significant portions of the legislation, primarily those elements that would have regulated the sellers and users, while leaving intact several elements of the bill that ultimately became law.  One of these elements has been interpreted by the courts to allow the establishment of “collective gardens” that now act as unregulated marijuana dispensaries.  Further, while the law establishes the rights of those with authorization to use medical marijuana, the mechanisms that would have allowed law enforcement to validate authorizations were also vetoed.  I-502 makes no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Consequently, there are still several areas of concern related to the medical marijuana “industry” that remain unresolved and will not be resolved through the implementation of I-502.  As a result, many in the state have noted that changes are needed to make the medical marijuana system “well regulated” to ensure that the federal government does not intervene.

Because there is no state registry of providers or authorized users of medical marijuana, there is no data on the number of medical marijuana patients in the state.  Furthermore, because dispensaries are largely unregulated, there is also no data on the number of these businesses in the state.  The Washington Institute of Public Policy (WISPP) has reviewed the state’s medical marijuana “industry” and recently released a report entitled “Medical Marijuana: Access and Regulations in Washington State” (attached). In the report, the researchers noted that two national advocacy organizations have released estimates of the number of authorized patients in Washington based on the number of medical marijuana patients per capita in Oregon and Colorado. The estimates range from 1 to 1.5% of the state’s population, or 68,824 – 103,236 patients statewide.  

The report also noted that the source from which qualified patients may acquire medical marijuana is commonly known as an “access point.” Access points include (but may not be limited to) dispensaries, cooperatives, and collectives. Only collective gardens and personal plant cultivation are specifically allowed under current state law. The Marijuana Business Factbook estimated that there are between 300-350 “marijuana stores” or dispensaries in Washington, while recent news reports have estimated up to 274 access points in the City of Seattle alone.

King County Moratorium on Medical Marijuana Businesses In December 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17726. This ordinance established a one-year moratorium prohibiting the location, establishment or expansion of any medical marijuana collective garden or medical marijuana dispensary authorized under RCW 69.51A (Medical Marijuana Law) in unincorporated King County, whether for profit or not-for-profit.  

With the passage of this ordinance the county will not issue a building permit, occupancy permit, public health approval or development permit or approval of any kind for a "medical marijuana collective garden” or a "medical marijuana dispensary.”  Furthermore, the ordinance nullifies any land use approvals or other permits for any of these operations that are issued as a result of error or by use of vague or deceptive descriptions during the moratorium.  

The ordinance also includes the requirement that within six months, the executive shall transmit to the council a work plan that sets a timeline for:

· Reviewing the impacts of existing medical marijuana collective gardens and medical marijuana dispensaries and Washington State Liquor Control Board licensed recreational marijuana (I-502) businesses in unincorporated King County;
· Review of proposed or adopted state legislation intended to address the interaction between medical and recreational marijuana; and
· Consideration of whether adoption of appropriate land use regulations would address the impacts and concerns identified in the review of the state’s anticipated plans for regulating recreational and medical marijuana. 

The first report is due in June 2014.

Legislative Actions Related to Medical and Recreational Marijuana  Recognizing the need to address the divergence between I-502 and medical marijuana laws, the legislature adopted a proviso in Section 141 of the 2013-2014 state operating budget that directed the LCB to work with the state Department of Revenue and Department of Health to develop recommendations for the legislature regarding the interaction of medical marijuana regulations and the emerging recreational marijuana system.  The LCB made recommendations to the legislature addressing each of the elements of the proviso, including proposed age limits, mandatory registry of patients/providers and health care professionals, changes in possession amounts, and the creation of a medical marijuana endorsement for those recreational licensed retailers that choose to sell medical marijuana.  In addition, the LCB suggested that the legislature consider some form of tax exemption for medical marijuana patients.

During the most recent legislative session, the legislature spent considerable time on two major pieces of legislation that would have addressed the recommendations of the LCB to provide a regulatory framework for medical marijuana.  The two bills, HB 2149 (Cody) and SB 5887 (Rivers) were passed out of their houses of origin, but failed to be enacted in this session.  Under both bills, patients would have been able possess less and grow less medical marijuana than under current law but more than recreational users.  Further, patients/providers would have been required to join a state registry. The bills also sought to tighten medical authorizations, but would have allowed patients under the age of 21 to access medical marijuana.  Those patients with authorizations, who are over 18 or age, but less than 21, would have been allowed to purchase marijuana from retail stores with a new medical endorsement for retail licenses.  Patients under 18 would have to have parents or guardians provide consent and act as providers in order to access medical marijuana.  Both bills would have eliminated collective gardens and dispensaries, steering patients into licensed recreational stores approved to sell medical products.  Because the legislature did not pass either bill or take steps to regulate the medical marijuana industry, the state will soon have a much regulated recreational system operating in tandem with a virtually unregulated system.  As a consequence, it is not known whether the federal government will take increased enforcement actions against the state for failing to develop a “well regulated” system.

There are several other policy areas that went beyond the regulation of the medical marijuana market where the legislature also did not take any final action.   A summary of these issues that have not been addressed include:

· Developing dedicated funding from marijuana excise taxes for local governments to use for enforcement or other local needs;
· Addressing the Attorney General Opinion related to preemption of local governments from legislating on marijuana regulations;
· Providing for the LCB recommendation to establish some form of tax exemption for medical marijuana;
· Developing a state-operated trust fund/bank for marijuana businesses to provide a state alternative to the “cash” basis marijuana businesses operate under;
· Answering the LCB request to create as misdemeanor offenses sales to youth under 18, youth 18-21 in possession, youth using fake ID to purchase, or using a “straw buyer” for youth purchases;
· Explicitly allowing youth to participate in underage enforcement efforts by LCB; 
· Re-allocating the Marijuana Excise Taxes that had been allocated to the now defunct Basic Health Care Plan; and,
· Excluding industrial hemp from the definition of marijuana.

While the legislature did not pass legislation to regulate medical marijuana, it did pass some other marijuana-related legislation.  The state enacted ESHB 2304 which addresses several concerns with I-502 language related to marijuana concentrates.   This legislation permits marijuana processors to sell marijuana concentrates, in addition to useable marijuana and marijuana-infused products, to retailers and other processors.  The legislation defines "marijuana concentrates" as resin extracted from the cannabis plant with a high THC concentration, in contrast to "marijuana infused products," which includes extracts from the entire cannabis plant. These concentrates are also known as “hash oil.”  The definition of "marijuana-infused products" is refined to require inclusion of marijuana or marijuana extracts with between 0.3 percent and 60 percent THC concentration.  The bill also permits marijuana retailers to sell marijuana concentrates to consumers—up to seven grams, in contrast to 72 ounces of marijuana infused product.  In adding concentrates, the legislation also establishes transactions involving marijuana concentrates into the existing marijuana excise tax framework.  Finally, the bill exempts account information associated with marijuana producer, processor, and retailer licenses from disclosure under the Public Records Act.

In addition, the legislature passed SB 6505 which exempts marijuana from various tax preferences, primarily tax preferences that apply to agricultural production.  And the legislature also adopted SB 6415 which imposes consecutive sentences for Driving Under the Influence, including marijuana DUI, violations when also violations of state's ignition interlock device law.  

ATTACHMENTS:

1. Memorandum for United States Attorneys, “Guidance Regarding Marijuana Enforcement,” Federal Department of Justice, August 29, 2013.
2. Retail Store Locations, Washington State Liquor Control Board, September 2013.
3. “Medical Marijuana: Access and Regulations in Washington State,” Washington Institute of Public Policy, February 2014.
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