

# King County

## **Meeting Minutes**

# Budget and Fiscal Management Committee

Councilmembers: Dave Upthegrove, Chair; Kathy Lambert, Vice Chair; Claudia Balducci, Rod Dembowski, Reagan Dunn, Larry Gossett, Jeanne Kohl-Welles, Joe McDermott and Pete von Reichbauer

> Staff: Wendy Soo Hoo, Lead Staff (206-477-0890) Sharon Daly, Committee Assistant (206-477-0870)

6:30 PM

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

**Courtroom 3F** 

#### SPECIAL MEETING

Norm Maleng Regional Justice Center Courtroom 3F 401 Fourth Avenue North Kent, WA 98009

Pursuant to K.C.C. 1.24.035 A. and F., this meeting is also noticed as a meeting of the Metropolitan King County Council, whose agenda is limited to the committee business. In this meeting only the rules and procedures applicable to committees apply and not those applicable to full council meetings.

play video

#### 1. <u>Call to Order</u>

<u>play video</u>

Chair Upthegrove called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m. The Chair welcomed everyone to the public hearing and presented opening remarks. Each councilmember introduced himself/herself and provided comments about the district he/she represents.

#### 2. Roll Call

<u>play video</u>

Present: 9 - Ms. Balducci, Mr. Dembowski, Mr. Dunn, Mr. Gossett, Ms. Kohl-Welles, Ms. Lambert, Mr. McDermott, Mr. Upthegrove and Mr. von Reichbauer

### Briefing

<u>play video</u>

#### 3. Briefing No. 2016-B0185

Public Hearing to Discuss the Executive's Proposed 2017-2018 Budget

#### <u>play video</u>

A video was presented which provided an introduction to King County's budget.

#### This matter was Presented

#### 4. <u>Public Testimony</u>

#### <u>play video</u>

- The following persons spoke:
- 1. Kent Mayor Suzette Cooke
- 2. Kent Police Chief Ken Thomas
- 3. Hazel Cameron
- 4. Roxana Amaral
- 5. Mikia Cain and her son Marvin
- 6. Chris Vance
- 7. Betsy Howe
- 8. Jeffrey Mitchell
- 9. Scott Shock
- 10. Dallas Baker
- 11. Paul V. Brown
- 12. Jodi Brown
- 13. Glenn Morgan
- 14. Darrol R. Johnson
- 15. Kerry Cooley-Stroum
- 16. Monica Mendoza-Castrejon
- 17. Francisco Rodriguez
- 18. Raphael Vazquez
- 19. Martha Zamora
- 20. Isidra Mejia
- 21. Cruz Medina
- 22. Ana Brito
- 23. Flora Ybarra
- 24. Maria speaking for her father Pedro Anguiano
- 25. Sandra Gaither
- 26. Heidi Jackson
- 27. Jazmine Speed
- 28. Rory O'Sullivan
- 29. Philip Schmidt-Pathmann
- 30. Don Cameron
- 31. Kirk Waldorf

### Adjournment

<u>play video</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Approved this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_.

Clerk's Signature