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SUBJECT

Seattle/King County Public Health Review of State and Local Laws Regarding Medical and Recreational Marijuana.

SUMMARY

The Adoption of Initiative 692 (I-692) in 1998, established legal parameters for the possession and use of marijuana for medical purposes.  In 2012, voters adopted Initiative 502 (I-502) which amends Washington's controlled substances statutes to allow adults, age 21 and over, to purchase, possess, and use small amounts of marijuana for recreational purposes.  It also establishes the means for regulating the production, processing, sales, and taxing of marijuana. After passage of I-502, Seattle/King County Department of Public Health received a grant to conduct a statewide study using the methodology of policy surveillance—which is a methodology for better understanding of the relationship between public health regulation and public health outcomes.  This review looked at the marijuana-related regulations in all 39 Washington counties and 130 cities (population greater than 3,000).  This briefing will present the results of this review along with the status of legislation under consideration whose goal is to bring the medical marijuana system into conformance with the recreational system.   

BACKGROUND

In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  The initiative limited criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid documentation" from their physician or medical professional affirming that he or she suffers from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."  The initiative did not, however, “legalize” marijuana.

On November 6, 2012, Washington voters approved Initiative 502 (I-502) with 55.7 percent of the vote; the measure passed by 63.5 percent in King County.  Marijuana, prior to the passage of I-502, had been a controlled substance and persons possessing even minor amounts of the drug could be subject to criminal charges, prison time, and subsequent criminal records.  

While the cultivation, transport, sale, and possession of marijuana remain federal crimes, state officials have met with federal representatives to describe the state’s plans for implementing a “well-regulated” system that allows recreational use of the drug, while taking significant measures to limit its availability to youth, and to provide sources of funding for the prevention of abuse.  

I-502 Changes in Criminal Sanctions. Initiative 502 changes state law to make it legal to  possess of an established amount of marijuana or marijuana products by those 21 years of age or older, or for those licensed by the state (the initiative specifically states that these limited types of possession are “not a violation of Washington state law”).  The amounts of marijuana that will be legal for an individual to purchase/possess under I-502 are: 

	(1) one ounce of useable marijuana (28.35 grams); 
	(2) 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in a solid form; 
(3) 7 grams of marijuana concentrates; or 
	(4) 72 ounces of marijuana-infused products in liquid form.  

The state Liquor Control Board (LCB) has established the legal amounts that licensed producers, processors, and retailers may possess based on their license.  The LCB has also established rules for the transport of marijuana from one licensee to another. 

It is still a violation of state law to possess, possess for sale, sell, or transport illegal, or unlicensed, amounts of marijuana or marijuana products.  It remains a violation of state law for anyone under 21 years of age to possess any amount of marijuana.  It is also unlawful under I-502 to open a package of marijuana or marijuana products “in view of the general public.”  The initiative also established new standards for marijuana-related driving under the influence laws.

The initiative did not specifically address limits on marijuana concentrates, also known as “hash oil,” treating them as marijuana infused products.  However, after significant input from various stakeholders noting that concentrates were significantly different from infused products, the legislature addressed these concerns in 2014 with the adoption of ESHB 2304.  Under the new law, it is legal to possess up to seven grams of concentrates, in contrast to the legal 72 ounces of infused products.  Nevertheless, only licensed processors are allowed to make these concentrates.  As a result, any manufacture of concentrates without a license remains a crime under state law.  Under current law, the “Manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent to manufacture or deliver” concentrates continues to be a Class C felony punishable by up to five years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.

In contrast to the state’s recreational marijuana limits, under the state’s medical marijuana statutes, a person—even those less than 21 years of age--with medical authorization, may possess 24 ounces of marijuana or up to 15 marijuana plants.  Further, up to ten patients can collectively grow 150 marijuana plants as part of a “collective garden.”  There currently is no state regulatory system for medical marijuana, or a registry of authorized patients or providers.  Of the 20 states and the District of Columbia with medical marijuana laws, only the State of Washington does not have some form of registry (18 states and the District of Columbia have mandatory registries and two states have voluntary registries).   The courts have ruled that collective gardens which are allowed under state law—even when constituted as medical marijuana dispensaries--can serve many more than ten patients, as long as the dispensary does not serve more than ten patients at any one time.  Under current medical marijuana statutes, patients, providers, and suppliers have an “affirmative defense” to protect them if arrested and prosecuted for possession of marijuana.

I-502 Revenues and Taxes In addition to the revenues from application and license fees collected by the LCB, I-502 levies a new Marijuana Excise Tax equal to 25 percent of the selling price for producer sales to processors, 25 percent for processor sales to retailers, and 25 percent for retailer sales to individuals (this is an effective rate of 36.5 percent). General state and local sales and use taxes, and business and occupation taxes will also apply to the sale of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.  

In its February 2015 economic forecast, the state’s Economic and Revenue Forecast Council showed that $51 million in revenue is expected for the 2015-2017 biennium from marijuana production and sales. An additional $138.5 million is expected for the next two-year budget that ends mid-2019. A little under half of that revenue is expected from excise tax and license fees related to the marijuana market, and the rest is expected to come from retail sales tax and business taxes.  The council estimates almost $190 million in marijuana related revenue over the next four years.  The initiative allocates the funding to a variety of state sources, including 50 percent of the excise tax revenues to the state’s Basic Health Plan, which no longer exists.  The legislature will have to take action to reallocate these revenues.

Establishing Regulations for Licensing Producers, Processors, and Retailers Initiative 502 authorizes the Washington State Liquor Control Board (LCB) to license and regulate marijuana use for persons over the age of 21.   Under I-502, marijuana will be sold to consumers exclusively by privately owned and operated, licensed retail outlets who may sell only marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and related products for using and storing marijuana. Retailers may only sell marijuana produced by LCB licensed producers and processed by LCB licensed processors. Processors must purchase marijuana from licensed Washington producers, and retailers must purchase marijuana from Washington licensed producers and processors.  Section 5 of I-502 states that licensed producers and processors cannot have a direct or indirect financial interest in a licensed retailer.  Therefore, a grower/producer licensee can also have a separate processing license, but cannot sell their product at the retail level.  The LCB adopted rules in October 2013 for licensing and products. 

I-502 requires that each producer, processor, and retailer apply for a license and requires a separate application and license for every location.  The rules prohibit licenses within 1,000 feet of a school, playground, recreation center or facility, child care center, public park, public transit center, library, or a game arcade accessible by patrons under 21 years old.  The LCB leaves it to local jurisdictions to determine whether applicants meet existing local land use and zoning ordinances.  

Local Review of Applications  Prior to issuing or renewing a license, the LCB is required to provide notice of the application to the chief executive officer of the incorporated city or town, or “to the county legislative authority, if the application is for a license within that jurisdiction.” The official or employee designated by the city, town, or county has the right to file with the LCB a written objection against the applicant and may request an administrative hearing within 20 days for applications and 30 days in the case of objections to renewals.  In November 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17693 which will have the county review of marijuana related license applications follow the same process as the county’s review of liquor license applications.  
While King County adopted land use regulations for recreational marijuana businesses, several communities and jurisdictions across Washington, and in King County, have enacted local bans or moratoriums. In a formal Attorney General Opinion issued January 16, 2014, the Attorney General’s Office concluded that “I-502 left in place the normal powers of local governments to regulate within their jurisdictions” and that “…nothing in I-502 limits that authority with respect to licensed marijuana businesses.” As a result, it appears that local jurisdictions can ban or severally limit marijuana businesses in their jurisdictions.  
In an advisory letter from the LCB, the board noted that “while the law (I-502) is silent on the issue of local bans, there is also nothing with the law which allows for the board to deny licenses to qualified applicants. If an applicant meets the state’s criteria for licensure, the board will issue a state license. Like any other type of business, a licensee must be in compliance with local laws and regulations.”  Therefore, businesses may receive licenses but be unable operate in these jurisdictions.  The LCB has advised jurisdictions that the LCB will not reallocate retail licenses in jurisdictions which have local bans to adjacent jurisdictions that have no bans or moratoria.
Many jurisdictions in King County have taken some form of legislative action related to marijuana businesses—recreational, medical, or both—as described below.
Medical Marijuana Does Not Conform to the Recreational Regulatory System  As noted above, I-502 was not the state’s first measure related to the use of marijuana.  In 1998, voters in Washington joined voters in several other states to legalize “medical marijuana” with the passage of Initiative 692.  As this initiative was implemented, many areas of concern arose that had not been adequately addressed in the original measure.  

In 2011, the legislature adopted ESSB 5073 that would have addressed these concerns by developing a framework for regulating medical marijuana dispensaries and establishing a statewide registry of patients with valid authorizations.  The Governor choose to veto significant portions of the legislation, primarily those elements that would have regulated the sellers and users, while leaving intact several elements of the bill that ultimately became law.  One of these elements has been interpreted by the courts to allow the establishment of “collective gardens” that now act as unregulated marijuana dispensaries.  Further, while the law establishes the rights of those with authorization to use medical marijuana, the mechanisms that would have allowed law enforcement to validate authorizations were also vetoed.  I-502 makes no changes to the state’s medical marijuana laws.  Consequently, there are still several areas of concern related to the medical marijuana “industry” that remain unresolved and have not be resolved through the implementation of I-502.  As a result, many in the state have noted that changes are needed to make the medical marijuana system “well regulated” to ensure that the federal government does not intervene.

Because there is no state registry of providers or authorized users of medical marijuana, there is no data on the number of medical marijuana patients in the state.  Furthermore, because dispensaries are largely unregulated, there is also no data on the number of these businesses in the state.  The Washington Institute of Public Policy (WISPP) has reviewed the state’s medical marijuana “industry” and recently released a report entitled “Medical Marijuana: Access and Regulations in Washington State” (attached). In the report, the researchers noted that two national advocacy organizations have released estimates of the number of authorized patients in Washington based on the number of medical marijuana patients per capita in Oregon and Colorado. The estimates range from 1 to 1.5% of the state’s population, or 68,824 – 103,236 patients statewide.  

The report also noted that the source from which qualified patients may acquire medical marijuana is commonly known as an “access point.” Access points include (but may not be limited to) dispensaries, cooperatives, and collectives. Only collective gardens and personal plant cultivation are specifically allowed under current state law. The Marijuana Business Factbook estimated that there are between 300-350 “marijuana stores” or dispensaries in Washington, while recent news reports have estimated over 275 access points in the City of Seattle alone.

King County Moratorium on Medical Marijuana Businesses In December 2013, the council adopted Ordinance 17726. This ordinance established a one-year moratorium prohibiting the location, establishment or expansion of any medical marijuana collective garden or medical marijuana dispensary authorized under RCW 69.51A in unincorporated King County, whether for profit or not-for-profit.  The Council extended this moratorium in December 2014 for six months with adoption of Ordinance 17940 through June 2015.

Under the provisions of the moratorium, the county will not issue a building permit, occupancy permit, public health approval or development permit or approval of any kind for a "medical marijuana collective garden” or a "medical marijuana dispensary.”  Furthermore, the ordinance nullifies any land use approvals or other permits for any of these operations that are issued as a result of error or by use of vague or deceptive descriptions during the moratorium.  

Legislative Actions Related to Medical and Recreational Marijuana  Recognizing the need to address the divergence between I-502 and medical marijuana laws, the legislature adopted a proviso in Section 141 of the 2013-2014 state operating budget that directed the LCB to work with the state Department of Revenue and Department of Health to develop recommendations for the legislature regarding the interaction of medical marijuana regulations and the emerging recreational marijuana system.  The LCB made recommendations to the legislature addressing each of the elements of the proviso, including proposed age limits, mandatory registry of patients/providers and health care professionals, changes in possession amounts, and the creation of a medical marijuana endorsement for those recreational licensed retailers that choose to sell medical marijuana.  In addition, the LCB suggested that the legislature consider some form of tax exemption for medical marijuana patients.  

There were also several other policy areas that were identified beyond the regulation of the medical marijuana market.   A summary of these issues include:

· Re-allocating the Marijuana Excise Taxes that had been allocated to the now defunct Basic Health Care Plan; 
· Developing dedicated funding from marijuana excise taxes for local governments to use for local needs;
· Addressing the Attorney General Opinion related to preemption of local governments from legislating on marijuana regulations;
· Developing a state-operated trust fund/bank for marijuana businesses to provide a state alternative to the “cash” basis marijuana businesses operate under;
· Answering the LCB request to create as misdemeanor offenses sales to youth under 18, youth 18-21 in possession, youth using fake ID to purchase, or using a “straw buyer” for youth purchases; and,
· Excluding industrial hemp from the definition of marijuana.

The legislature, however, took no action in 2014 on any legislation to align the medical and recreational systems or address these other policy issues.

For its 2015 session, the legislature has considered over 45 bills that address a broad range of marijuana-related issues.  These issues include regulating medical marijuana, reworking the recreational marijuana excise tax, changing “buffer” zones, addressing state/local preemption issues, revising the criminal code (ranging from bills to vacate prior marijuana convictions to clarifying offenses for those aged 18-20), and providing local revenues from the marijuana excise tax.  

Currently two bills—2ESSB 5052 and HB 2136 are under consideration in the legislature to address concerns with medical marijuana and to also address issues in the recreational system.  

To date, 2ESSB 5052 is the bill that has become the primary legislation intended to bring medical marijuana laws into conformance with recreational marijuana laws and regulatory requirements.  The bill would establish the LCB (renamed the Liquor and Cannabis Board) as the agency responsible for regulating new licensees for those who produce, process or sell medical marijuana.  The LCB would set standards for these licenses in the same way that it set rules for recreational licenses.  The bill would establish a “medical marijuana endorsement” for retailers.  A licensed marijuana retailer may receive a medical marijuana endorsement to allow it to sell marijuana for medical use to qualifying patients and designated providers. The bill would require that the LCB increase the maximum number of marijuana retail outlets and accept applications from new applicants, if necessary, to accommodate the medical needs of qualifying patients and designated providers.  

Under the provisions of the legislation, the Department of Health would be required to establish a variety of standards for health care providers to authorize marijuana for patients and would establish a registry for authorized users or providers (providers are adult caregivers allowed to obtain medical marijuana for those under 21 years of age).  While health care providers would issue authorizations for medical marijuana, medical marijuana retailers would be responsible for entering the authorization data into a state registry.  With registration, an authorized user can obtain medical marijuana products without paying sales tax.  The bill would also:

· Require licensed marijuana retailers to obtain a medical marijuana endorsement to allow them to sell medical-grade marijuana to qualifying patients and designated providers; 
· Allow qualifying patients and designated providers to be entered into the Medical Marijuana Authorization Database and obtain an authorization card to allow them to have additional amounts of marijuana products, tax exemptions, and arrest protection;
· Allow authorized users to grow marijuana for personal use in their homes;
· Reduce the current amounts of medical marijuana that a qualifying patient may possess depending on whether or not they have an authorization card or authorization from a health care professional for an additional amount, however the amounts are greater than those allowed under I-502.
· Eliminate collective gardens (medical marijuana dispensaries) by July 2016; and,
· Allow up to four authorized users to establish growing cooperatives which must be registered with the Liquor and Cannabis Board (that specifically cannot sell or trade marijuana products or be within one mile of a retailer with a medical endorsement).

The bill has several other provisions including the requirement to establish standards for medical marijuana use and to establish standards “medical marijuana consultants.” The current version of 2ESSB 5052 has passed out of the House Health Care and Wellness Committee and is in the Rules Committee (as of March 27, 2015).  

In addition to 2ESSB 5052, HB 2136 is proceeding through the legislature to address other concerns related to the implementation of I-502.  The bill’s provisions include:

· A tax exemption form sales and use tax for qualifying medical marijuana patients and designated providers;  
· The elimination of the 25 percent producer and processor taxes and increases the 25 percent retailer tax to 30 percent and specifies the taxes will be levied on the buyer (addressing concerns related to federal IRS rules);  
· Provision for the distribution of marijuana tax revenues to local jurisdictions at an annual cap of $20 million and a sunset of January 1, 2022.
· Changes to the allowable uses of marijuana tax revenues for the Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR).  
· Modifications to marijuana retailer signage requirements, allowing for one additional sign identifying the business or trade name.
· Revises the buffer distance provisions for the siting of a marijuana retail outlet.
· Clarifications to the definition of "public place" in provisions that prohibit the consumption of marijuana in a public place.
· Allowance for a marijuana business to use a common carrier to transport marijuana if the carrier is licensed by the LCB.  
· Allowance for the LCB to receive private funding to be utilized for materials to improve public awareness of the health risks associated with the use of marijuana; and,  
· Exemptions for cannabis health and beauty aids from all regulations in the Controlled Substances Act pertaining to marijuana, but only for products that meet specific definitions.

A significant element of the legislation alters how excise taxes would be collected and distributed.  Under the provisions of I-502, each wholesale and retail marijuana sale is charged a 25 percent state tax. That tax is normally charged three times — on the sale from the grower to the processor, on the sale from the processor to the retailer, and on the retail sale to a consumer (an effective tax of about 36 percent total). Those taxes are added into the prices charged to the processors and to the retailers — and, ultimately, to the consumers.  The trio of 25 percent taxes has increased the price of recreational marijuana in Washington, reportedly putting it at a competitive disadvantage to the loosely regulated medical marijuana market—which is not subject to the three 25 percent tax charges. Legal retail marijuana also competes with the black market, where no taxes are charged. This legislation would eliminate the 25 percent taxes on the grower and processor sales, while bumping the retail tax from 25 percent to 30 percent.  This provision is intended to make legal marijuana more competitive, but also resolves a federal IRS issue currently faced by the recreational industry.

Another very significant change from current law would distribute part of the marijuana excise tax revenue to cities and counties, but only after $20 million in marijuana taxes reaches the state’s general fund in a single fiscal year. Then the state would retain 70 percent of tax revenues, but would distribute the remaining 30 percent of the year’s marijuana tax income to counties and cities whose businesses send marijuana taxes to the state. The distribution would be capped at $20 million, with any excess going directly to the state.  In the bill’s current version, eligible counties would get 60 percent of the distribution, and the cities would get 40 percent.

This legislation also would allow a county or city legislative authority to reduce the current state-required 1,000-foot buffer down to as little as 100 feet between a marijuana establishment and a recreation center, a child care center, a public park, and some other facilities. However, local governments would not be able to shrink the 1,000-foot buffer around schools and playgrounds.

Finally, the bill includes a contingency that Senate Bill 5052 (2EESB 5052) must be enacted before House Bill 2136 takes effect.

Policy Surveillance The Seattle/King County Department of Public Health monitors indicators of public health, including communicable and chronic disease trends and outbreaks.  This is called ‘surveillance.’  Through a novel pilot project, Public Health – Seattle & King County also monitors the existence and components of public health-related policies or laws, in order to understand the evidence base (effectiveness) of particular policies or elements of policies.  This approach is called ‘policy surveillance’ and is the scientific study of policy, applying similar epidemiological rigor and a long-term view, by monitoring change of policy over time.  Areas of focus at this stage include tobacco, marijuana, healthy housing, and health in comprehensive planning.  The ‘data’ (ordinances, internal policies, rules) is collected, then coded against a pre-designed ‘codebook’ set of questions, and then displayed in an online visual system called PolicyTracker LawAtlas (mirrored on a national system called LawAtlas). (See policies here: http://www.kingcounty.gov/healthservices/health/data/PolicyTracker.aspx). 

The system is used to monitor community policy conditions in King County and throughout Washington State, and as a comparative tool by researchers, policy staff, and others interested in the varied local approaches to improve community health.  Ultimately, connecting public health and other community indicator data to policy data can help to clarify where policies are effective in improving community health. In support of this system, in 2014 the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funded Public Health to review and code local jurisdiction legislative responses to marijuana WA.  Principal Investigator Laura Hitchcock (Policy Research & Development Specialist at Public Health) will provide a report on the findings of this study, including both King County and statewide results.
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